Sitting on the bookshelf

So I finally saw the video for She and Him’s “Why do you let me stay here” and love love loved it; although since their album has pretty much been playing consistently on my iPod for half a year and I like everything except Nickelback and that movie “The Hills Have Eyes,” that is no surprise. Ever since Elf, I have wanted more Zooey singing. Dreams really do come true.

gee ::all wide eyed and innocent:: it was like this video was made just for me to like it: the retro dresses, the lighthearted death scenes, the cute ghosts, the smiling! I want to be Zooey Deschanel.

wait, no I want to imagine what books I would have read if I was Zooey Deschanel.

She has read:
all books by Roald Dahl
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Sitting in the Club Car Drinking Rum and Karma Kola by Paulette Jiles
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

Hmmm, if I am going to be a librarian I need to learn to talk about books I haven’t read; the only one in that list I am not familiar with is Lolita, and that is such a classic that I have practically read it (haha, I just thought to myself “I would know more about it if Wishbone had covered it…wait bad idea…”). Oooh, I love all those books, and since I love Zooey’s music the logic is that she would love those books, too. I hope she googles herself and sees this blog and then is like “Nerdgirltalking is awesome, I am going to make them M.Ward and my back-up dancers and pose with them in a READ poster!” and it would be the highlight of my life. Whoa, American Library Association, if you are listening, why doesn’t Zooey have her own read poster yet?!!!

amberj.

3 Responses to “Sitting on the bookshelf”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer September 19, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    I totally have a girl crush on Zooey…..she is so awesome!!

  2. 2 mike October 9, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    whoa! I love zooey. I mean, the eyes, the voice, the wacky name, and quirky clothes!? She’s where it’s at! Hey, I’m studying to be a librarian. 245 fields, papyrus, readers advisories…yeah!

  3. 3 Quéren May 4, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I really love it

    zooey is perfect


Leave a comment