Nerdy Book Discussion?

So Lindsay and I were discussing in the comments of my last post how we should start a book discussion.  I think this is an awesome idea.  For our first book, we chose The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  Does anyone want to join us??

However, we’re still working out the details.  For example, do we discuss chapter by chapter?  Do we divide the book into 4 sections and go week by week for a month?  Or just give ourselves a month to read the book and discuss at the end?  Hmmmmm.

Anyone interested, please share your thoughts!

– Jill

4 Responses to “Nerdy Book Discussion?”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay February 5, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Oooh, I like the idea of breaking it up into 4 sections! But I’m cool with whatever except for the one month/discuss at the end. I always do terribly with those kinds of deals.

  2. 2 Amber February 5, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    I’m down for 4 sections! Also, I am super duper excited for the Baz Lurhmann Great Gatsby movie to come out next winter! I think I shall have to buy the outofprintclothing Great Gatsby sweatshirt in honor of these events: http://shop.outofprintclothing.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=U-1004

    Although, I have read Great Gatsby several times…I feel like I should read something else by Fitzgerald like the Beautiful and the Damned or Flappers and Philosophers…I will think on this.

  3. 3 ngtjill February 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Awesome, let’s make it the 4 sections thing then. When I pick up a copy from the library tomorrow, I’ll figure out how to divide it up. This week will be our first section!

    And Amber, you should definitely join since you’ve read it even if you decide to read another Fitzgerald. As the Beautiful and the Damned the one that was published the year your house was built? Or maybe I’m confusing it with another. I’m pretty sure it *was* the book Serena was helping turn into a movie at the beginning of this season on Gossip Girl. 🙂

  4. 4 ngtlindsay February 6, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Yay!! I’m so excited!!


Leave a Reply

