Top Ten Tuesday: Discussable* Books

* I’m not entirely sure that’s a real word, but I’m too tired to look it up now.

This week (please ignore how I skipped several weeks since last time) for Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is books that would be good for a book discussion.  My list includes books that I’ve gotten to discuss and were great, books I will be discussing and am looking forward to, and books I would love to discuss.  In no particular order…

1.  Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
All of my answers to Top Ten Tuesday may include Harry Potter.  Everytime I re-read any of these books…or even think about them for longer than one minute…I think they’re amazing and want to talk to someone about how intricately woven they are.

2.  Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
If you’ve read this blog at all in the past, you may have seen me reference this book before.  Because it’s AMAZING and my favorite adult book EVER.  I’ve actually gotten to discuss this before and while it was a good discussion, pretty much everyone else was like “eh, it was ok.”  😦

3.   The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
I’ve discussed this book officially 2 times in a true book discussion and have another one coming up in March.  Can I just say it: I am burnt out on The Hunger Games!  *whew*  But it does make a good discussion, and next time the discussion is with adults, so should be interesting.

4.  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
I read this a few weeks ago and instantly wanted to talk about it.  I am so sad that it will not come out in paperback for at least a year and therefore cannot be a true book discussion that I lead or co-lead for a long time.

5.  Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
One of my coworkers and I started a book discussion group for adults (and teens) who want to read YA books.  I would LOVE to do Beauty Queens, but again, waiting for paperback.

6.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
We actually just discussed The Book Thief with our new book discussion group for adults reading teen books and it was a great discussion.  Even though I kind of hate the book (please don’t hate me!), the adults were pretty into it.  Particularly when it came to what the colors symbolized and why it is a teen book.

7.  Chime by Franny Billingsley
So even though I was confused by this book while reading it and wasn’t sure I even really liked it, I cannot stop thinking about Chime!  It has a lot of fabulous elements and I desperately want to re-read it for a true discussion about its narrator, writing style, and fairy tale-esque qualities.

8.  When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
It’s been awhile since I’ve read this, but I definitely remember loving it.  It’s definitely the kind of book you want to go back instantly and re-read, which I think means it would be great to discuss.

9.  Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
This one is FULL of ’80s references and nerdiness.  I read it for a discussion with some friends, and it was great – both the book and the discussion.

10.  The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
After seeing Midnight in Paris, I really wanted to read or re-read books of the jazz era.  The Great Gatsby is at the top of my list since I haven’t read it since sophomore year of high school and remember nothing besides a car crash and a green light.  (I think?)  If it were part of a book discussion, I would definitely pick it up.  Anybody interested??  (I wish I hadn’t missed when the nerdfighting community read it this summer.)

What books do you want or love to discuss?

– Jill

7 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Discussable* Books”


  1. 1 Jeyna Grace February 1, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close has been made into a film i think, im pretty interested in checking it out.

  2. 2 ngtjill February 1, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Hey Jeyna, you’re right – Extremely Loud has been made into a movie and it’s out now. I haven’t seen it yet because it was nominated for Best Picture (woohoo!) and my family does AMC’s Best Picture Showcase where we watch all of the Best Picture nominees in one day. 🙂 So I’ll finally get to see it in a few weeks!

  3. 3 ngtlindsay February 1, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Oooh, Harry Potter NEVER gets old and I will NEVER want to stop talking about it! I haven’t talked about Beauty Queens to anyone and it was so good! I really need to ask the NPL to start a book club for the adult YA readers. I have not yet read John Green’s latest, but I will eventually pick it up. It’s John Green. I will like it, and I will try to shove it in other people’s faces when I am done with it. OMG I just convinced my coworker to read When You Reach Me the other day. It was a good day. Actually, I got her to read The Hunger Games and she just finished them last week and so we’ve been talking about it lots. But I’m with you on that I’m deffo getting tired of HG. Maybe because of the upcoming movie? Who knows. And the only other book I read on your list was The Great Gatsby (jr year, American Literature) and I absolutely hated it. But maybe I’d like it more now? It’d be interesting to see my “adult” thoughts on it. Jill, I will totally reread Gatsby if you want to discuss it! I don’t remember much of it other than what you also remember. Although I do remember eye glasses. Something about glasses on a billboard?
    As for books not on your list I’d like to discuss:
    1. Princess Diaires. Or basically any Meg Cabot book ever. OMG let’s have a book club where we just talk about all her books! You know what book I’ve read the most? Teen Idol! I love that one so much!
    2. Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. I swoon over those books. SWOON.
    3. Any book by Melina Marchetta. That woman is amazing. Jill, have you read Jellicoe Road yet???? WE SHOULD DISCUSS IT!
    4. The Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde. Because it’s awesome and then we could all go around talking in British accents and repeating “Fforde!” (Fforde would be pronounced Fhforde, of course).
    5. Georgia Nicolson books by Louise Rennison. Because the Ace Gang is double cool with knobs! Also we could do the Viking bison disco inferno dance!
    There are more books I would discuss, but in the heat of the moment this is what I’m coming up with. Also, now I can’t get the Viking bison disco inferno out of my head. HOORRRRRN!!!!

  4. 4 ngtjill February 1, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Lindsay, let’s start an online book discussion on the blog!! We can do The Great Gatsby…or Teen Idol (I haven’t read it yet!!)…or The Knife of Never Letting Go (yes!)…or Jellicoe Road (when I finish it [insert embarrassed face])…or Jasper Fforde…or Louise Rennison (I have Withering Tights checked out right now). We should totally do it!!!!

  5. 5 Diana February 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    I second a book discussion on any of Meg Cabot’s books. 🙂

    I recently finished The Fault in Our Stars. Sooo good! It was my first John Green book, but definitely not my last.

  6. 6 ngtlindsay February 2, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    @Jill YES! LET’S!! Should Gatsby be our first? Let me know when you want to start!
    @Diana You should totally read Will Grayson, will grayson – my favorite John Green book so far! Well, John Green/David Levithan book, but still!

  7. 7 ngtjill February 3, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Hooray! Yes, I think we should start with Gatsby. I’ll blog about it and maybe we can get Jen, Amber, Diana or someone else to join in!


Leave a Reply

