I Love Lucy Too

This weekend has been full of my favorite 2 things:  I’ve spent most of the time reading and listening to the last 3 Harry Potter books, but during breaks I watched a few episodes of I Love Lucy.  You may have heard how yesterday was Lucille Ball’s 100th birthday.  Google even had an awesome doodle for it.  I’m a big I Love Lucy fan and have been since I was a kid.  Granted, it can be hard to watch at times with all the “Yes sir”s and other forms of husbands dominating wives, but I try to view it as a look into life in the ’50s and how far we’ve come in women’s rights.

At its best, I Love Lucy is an excellent sitcom of hijinks and misunderstandings.  It’s probably the grandmother of all modern sitcoms.  I think for the millions of people who watch it around the world, or at least for me!, it represents something safe and uncomplicated.  If I’m feeling off, I watch a few episodes.  If I’m working on something and just want some background noise, I put in a disc.  I own all 9 seasons.  🙂  (FYI: There are 6 regular seasons of half-hour episodes.  After that, they expanded to shorter, hour-long episodes that ran for 3 years.)

Even if you’re not familiar with the show, you’re sure to know of a few famous episodes–

Lucy Does a TV Commercial (the Vitameatavegamin episode)

Job Switching (the chocolate factory episode)

L.A. At Last (where she accidentally sets her nose on fire while wearing a disguise in front of William Holden)

As much as I love the episodes where they are in California and Europe and that feature celebrities of the ’50s, some of the best ones are in the earlier seasons when they’re in their apartment in New York.  There are so many good episodes to choose from but here are a few of my favorite lesser-known episodes you don’t want to miss!

The Séance
Season 1.  Lucy and Ethel believe in Numerology…and so does the man Ricky is trying to get a job from.  This whole scene is one of my favorites ever.

Ricky Thinks He’s Getting Bald

Season 1. Lucy tries to give Ricky painful scalp treatments so he’ll stop being worried about his hair.

Equal Rights

Season 3. The girls demand equal rights as men, but when they all go out to dinner and the guys make them pay, Lucy and Ethel don’t have any money and are forced to do dishes in the kitchen.  Then they try to get even with Ricky and Fred.  I love the way they skip back after the phone call.

The Charm School

Season 3.  A new young woman entices all of the men in their group, so Lucy and Ethel go to charm school to make them more attractive to their husbands.  Again, this is one of my favorite scenes ever.  YouTube is so great.  Ethel especially makes me laugh everytime.

Ethel’s Hometown

Season 4.  On their way to California, the Ricardos and Mertzes stop in Ethel’s hometown, where she has led everyone to believe *she* is the one on her way to become a star and holds her own show while in town.  This episode might be my all-time favorite, actually.  Btw, if anyone knows how they do the swinging thing at the end, please let me know. It’s been bugging me for years!

Those are mine!  What are some of your favorites?

– Jill

4 Responses to “I Love Lucy Too”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer August 8, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I will admit that I have never seen an episode of this show. After watching the clips, though, I might have to give it a try. I think Ethel will be one of my favorite characters.

  2. 2 Amber August 11, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I love love love Ethel’s hometown episode!

  3. 3 ngtjill August 21, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Jen, Ethel is probably my favorite character. I highly recommend you start with one featuring her. 🙂


  1. 1 I Love Lucy Too « NerdGirlBlogging | Pici Blog Trackback on August 8, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

