My Thoughts on Deathly Hallows Part 2

I went to see this movie at midnight and it was a wonderful experience.  I was in line at 3:30 p.m. and it was quite lovely.  I watched a movie, did several word searches and ate a lot of food.  We got great seats and the whole evening was phenomenal.  My poor sister was in Ames and she was nearly trampled to death at her theater.  They wouldn’t let anyone line up until 9:00 p.m., so there was a literal “Wal-Mart on Black Friday” mob running across the parking lot to get in line.  She was the only one from her group who made it into the building so she had to save seats for 12 other people.  Poor thing, she was so traumatized.

Anyway, I have already seen the movie twice and have managed to put together some thoughts (once I mopped up all my tears and stopped whimpering).  It will be filled with spoilery type things, so only click through if you have seen the movie.

Things I loved:

*I enjoyed the Gringotts scene.  Even though it felt a teensy bit rushed, I thought it was well done and Helena Bonham Carter was perfect as Hermione.  The special effects on the dragon were fantastic.  That was actually when I first started to get a little teary, because the dragon looked so sad.  I wasn’t the only one, because there were several faint cries of sadness in my theater when the dragon showed up.

*Professor McGonnagal was awesome!  The tears really started to fall for the first time when she brought the suits of armor to life.  Something about how powerful she became and how she was not going to take any more shit from the bad guys was just so kick ass!!!  There was one little thing she did that I didn’t like, but I will talk about that later.

*Hermione and Ron’s kiss was great!!!  I was a little nervous about this, because both Rupert and Emma had said that it was “awful” to film.  I was worried that it was also going to be awful to watch, but it was perfect.  The giggle at the end was priceless.

*Snape’s scene was perfection itself.  I have been worried for the last four movies that they haven’t spent enough time on Snape, but they managed to make up for all of it in one five minute scene.  I was a whimpering puddle of goo for the rest of the movie after his scene.

*When the snake is about to attack Hermione and Ron and Ron kind of hugs Hermione to keep her safe…….that is my favorite part of the whole movie.  It totally echos back to Harry doing the same thing in PoA with the werewolf.  Actually every time Ron refers to Hermione as his girlfriend, or when they hold hands is pretty much the best thing ever.

*Anything to do with the Malfoys.

*Mrs. Weasley being awesome.

Things I Did Not Love:

*They left out one of my favorite parts of book seven, which makes me really sad.  When they are sitting by the lake after jumping off the dragon, Ron says, “Well, I don’t know how to break this to you, but I think they might have noticed we broke into Gringotts.”  Then all three of them have a long laugh and it is a nice calm moment before the craziness begins.  It totally shows that when it comes down to it, they are still just kids, even with the weight of the world on their shoulders.  In the movie, they just jump onshore and start changing clothes and head right to Hogsmeade.

*I didn’t like the scene where the trio enters the Room of Requirement.  For some reason the tone felt all wrong.  The kids just were not excited enough and I was so depressed that Oliver Wood and Lee Jordan weren’t there.  Don’t ask me why, but I was.  And for some reason I thought all the actors mumbled their way through this scene and I couldn’t understand what anyone was saying.

*Putting the Slytherins in the dungeon???  What???  Way to go for a cheap laugh Mr. Kloves.  In the book it is made perfectly clear that the first priority is to get the students to safety.  That is completely ignored in the movie.  Fend for yourselves kids, the Death Eaters are coming!!!

*The Battle of Hogwarts also felt very wrong to me.  In the book there are a lot of little moments that give me the happy cry.  Professor Trelawney throwing the crystal balls, Neville and Professor Sprout throwing the plants, the house elves coming up from the basement, the centaurs showing up at the last minute.  That is what the books are all about, all different kinds of wizards and creatures working together to fight evil.  I just didn’t get the same feeling watching it play out on the screen.  It also totally sucked that they didn’t show Fred’s death……people don’t even know which twin died until they mention it like 10 minutes later.  Bad call, people.

*The little goodbye scene between the trio almost made me throw my shoe at the screen.  I’ll admit that I did cry when Hermione said “I’ll go with you,” but it just goes to show that Mr. Kloves is determined to turn every movie into “The Harry and Hermione Show.”  If you are going to make up scenes that aren’t in the book, at least give Ron something to do instead of just stand there like an idiot.  If I had written the scene, Hermione would have looked at Ron, he would have nodded (in their secret way of communicating without words that they do because they LOVE each other) and then she says, “WE”LL GO WITH YOU.”  The trio has always been the trio.  When big things happen, Hermione and Ron will both be there right next to Harry.  (Did you also notice that Hermione was placed in the center at both the end of the Hogwarts scene and in the last scene of the epilogue….also Ron totally didn’t have a single line in the epilogue…..ugh.  I love book Hermione, but sometimes I just hate movie Hermione.)

*The fight between Harry and Voldemort was also totally wrong.  Harry’s speech in the book is so important.  It mirrors the way that Dumbledore fought Voldemort in Order of the Phoenix (but they messed that fight up in the movie too, so I shouldn’t be surprised).  Harry is supposed to tell everyone that Snape was good and point out just how wrong Voldemort was about everything, not chase him all over the castle.  Sigh.

 

So, it may seem like with all the stuff I didn’t like, that I was not a fan of the movie.  That is not true.  I am always prepared for things to be different and ready for various degrees of disappointment.  As a whole, it was a great ending to the movie series.  I am excited to buy it and enjoy it for years to come.  I will even probably see it a couple more times in theater.

So, what did everyone else think?

Jen

P.S.  Did anyone else notice that during Snape’s scene they totally showed a clip from the WRONG prophecy.  It should be the one that led Voldy to kill Harry in the first place, but the brief excerpt they play is the prophecy Trelawney made about Wormtail returning to the Dark Lord.  Really???  Really????  How hard is that to get right???

6 Responses to “My Thoughts on Deathly Hallows Part 2”


  1. 1 Amber August 1, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    My thoughts:
    First off, since I waited until SATURDAY to see the movie with Miss Lindsay in Nashville, lots of people had already told me “omigosh you are gonna SOB!” Well, duh! I sobbed through the entire DH part 1, and I honestly mean the entire movie–I started crying the second I saw Hermione look at the headline on the newspaper in her bedroom and I was still crying on the way home. So I was already expecting to be a total mess in Part 2, but then with all the non-cryers telling me how much they cried I was getting extremely nervous that I would seriously have a break-down…

    umm I barely cried at all. Everything happened so fast! So nothing just felt as emotional to me as things were in Part 1. Yes, I teared up…but this might have actually been the movie where I cried the least.

    I totally agree with you, Jen, on the “Slytherins in the dungeons” thing–not cool–like really not cool. Imprisoning innocent people who might have a connection to the enemy? Not in my Hogwarts. They didn’t even give the Slytherins a choice.

    Speaking of choices, I thought Harry was supposed to give Voldemort a choice in the forest? or am i making that up…It has been awhile since I read DH, but I thought that was an important plot point–going back to the whole “It is our choices, Harry…”

    Also, and this really annoyed me, what is with the whole “where did Luna go?” and twenty minutes later “ah there she is” situation? We know exactly where Luna is! She is still there, still fighting! My second favorite line of the book (right after Dumbledore reality in our head talk) was cut. boo.

    I really wanted Mrs. Weasley to SCREEEAAAAMMM her line, so I was a little bummed by her delivery.

    I really really wanted some of Dumbledore’s dark past to be explained–and to see the original fight with Grindelwald. I am assuming that they filmed this, but it was all cut (otherwise, why would they hire such a big name to play him just to show a blurry, half-second image of him)–so hopefully it will be included on the DVDs!

    But overall, I loved it, too! I think if you combine as one movie with Part 1, then I would put Deathly Hallows as my second favorite movie behind Prisoner of Azkaban 🙂

    Prisoner of Azkaban
    Deathly Hallows
    Order of the Phoenix
    Sorcerer’s Stone
    Chamber of Secrets
    Goblet of Fire
    Half-Blood Prince (booooo)

  2. 2 ngtlindsay August 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    I can’t really add anything other than EXACTLY! I’m pretty much the same with you guys – the Slytherin/dungeon thing? Ummmm, NO! Also, I totally wanted more Dumbledore. Oh! And I too thought Molly should have screamed her bitch line! No subtlety needed! Your daughter was almost killed! SCREAM IT OUT!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer August 4, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Amber, I am also sad that Harry didn’t ask Voldy about the remorse thing. During their big confrontation in the great hall, Harry tells Tom that all of these can end if he will just show a little remorse for what he has done.

    I also think it might have been better if Mrs. Weasley could have screamed her line, but just the fact that it was in there made me happy.

    And with the whole crying thing……I cried a lot, but not as much as I expected. I thought I might cry through the whole thing, but I only really whimpered at the Hogwarts stuff. It might be different when I watch both films back to back.

  4. 4 ngtjill August 7, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Jen, totally agree with Helena Bonham Carter being awesome at being Hermione! That was great. Actually, I think I agree with you on everything – except the battle of Hogwarts. I loved it. I don’t have any problem with it – of course, after I’ve re-read Deathly Hallows, I may change my mind. 🙂

    Totally, TOTALLY agree with you about the Slytherins being put in the dungeons. I don’t think McGonagall would have done that. Granted she could have changed drastically since the Death Eaters took over Hogwarts, but to me, she is all about being fair.

    Amber & Lindsay, I third your feeling that Molly should have screamed her line. Wasn’t that all in caps in the book? I’ll find out soon. And Amber, what’s your 2nd favorite line in the book??

  5. 5 Amber August 11, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    “We’re all still here,” she whispered, “we’re still fighting.” -Luna Lovegood

    • 6 Shirantha September 12, 2011 at 1:12 am

      I just watched the movie yesterday. And I have to agree with most of you, that it wasn’t exactly the way I was hoping it to be. Then I guess, you have to accept a movie will never bring out the true feelings a book do. You may need 4 parts to get most of the book in.

      What I liked :

      *The gringott scene was great. The dragon, the scene inside the vault. Actually I thought this part was a bit dull in the book.

      * McGonnagal was brilliant, and also Flitwick when he was performing the protective charms. Actually i am dissapointed the littleness of Flitwick (in all movies and even in the book), he showcases being a brilliant wizard himself but he rarely is given the chance.

      * The snape part was, I would say 50 – 50. I liked his emotions, the tears were great.

      * The Kings Cross episode was the best in the movie for me. The suffering body of Voldermort was perfect.

      * The Battle was great in many ways. The scene at the bridge with Neville was a great addition. The protective sheild, and Voldermort destroying it could not have been better. The giants, the dementors were all good.

      Ron and Hermione scenes were beautiful too, though as someone else pointed out there was too much Hermione for Harry in the movies. I also prefer the book Hermione.

      What I didnt like :

      * Some insight to Dumbeldore’s past should have been there. A young dumbeldore, a young grindalwald. Nothing.

      * I really expected to see the scene of Ravenclaw common room, how Harry first meets McGonnagal. This is the first time Harry comes to Hogwarts this year and meets the proffessor, somehow this happening in front of the whole school gathering doesn’t seem correct.

      * Yes, Slytherins to the dungeon, not good.

      * On the snape part, I feel the memories were rushed too quickly and not organized properly and is very difficult to grip on to them. Remember, after all these years, the true image of Snape comes out only here, so it was important some time in the movie was allocated here. Some of the dialogues betwen Snape and Dumbeldore should have been more clear.

      * Fred’s death was a must scene.

      * No house elves to the party. Come on …5 second scene, of house elves marching in numbers to the battle would have been a real emotional scene expecially after Dobby.

      * Didn’t see Hagrid in Hogwarts, Where was Grawp.

      * What about Harry being a God father to Lupin’s son. Never mentioned anywhere was it.

      * The thing I am most dissapointed in the movie is when Voldermort brings (dead) Harry back to the castle. The movie got this part all wrong. Nevilles head on fire, Neville killing the final Horcrux (the snake) should have been here. And what about the centaures arriving at the battle. Surely how could this have been missed. And overall in the Battle I wished more clear scenes of individual battles, duels were shown with the death eaters. This is not all about Harry, and Harry fighting, many good people dies in this battle so time should have allocated for that too. The duel between Harry and Voldermort was too lengthy, it wasn’t realistc. The final duel should have in front of all, everyone deserved to see the fall of the Dark Lord.

      * 19 years later, Hermione and Ron should have looked older. Ron seemed to be out of place.

      So overall, I see a lot of simple, small scenes that would have really created the tears were missing, which is why it was a emotional disaapointement for many who watched. Fred’s death, house eleves, individual battles, percy joining, grawp.

      Anyway its over now. Wants to read the whole thing over again. I dont know about you guys, but I really wish Rowling is thinking about a second series. No Voldermort again but a son or a daughter taking over …………..


Leave a Reply

