Recap: Chamber of Secrets

Book 2 is starting off as good as I remembered. I think I like it a little better than Sorcerer’s Stone. There’s not as much obvious exposition- just a little more delving into the wizarding world. I had completely forgotten about Floo powder! And this one introduces Dobby (*sob*) and Colin Creevey.

Ooh… you guys… the vanishing cabinet is mentioned!!!!! Chapter 8- Nearly Headless Nick persuades Peeves to drop it over Filch’s office to get Harry out of trouble! Peeves breaks the vanishing cabinet! OMG I had no idea it was even mentioned far back! I am so impressed with J.K.’s ability to tie these things together.

Another thing I love about this book are the mandrakes. They’re so clever and funny! “…in March several of the Mandrakes threw a loud and raucous party in greenhouse 3. This made Professor Sprout very happy. ‘The moment they start trying to move into each other’s pots, we’ll know they’re fully mature.” Hilarious.

Also, has anyone else noticed how Ron is the one to jump to Hermione’s defense all the time? 🙂

So at the end of the book, Harry kind of takes on Lucius Malfoy. He deals with a lot of adults as an equal- not so much like a adult and a 12-year-old. I guess it’s because his parents aren’t around to take him on for him. I suddenly want to write or read critical essays on HP. (Nerd alert!)

MOVIE
I’m not a big fan of the scene in the bookstore- though I do love the part where Draco tears out a page from a book. The movie as a whole is ok. It’s pretty true to the book, which I appreciate, though at times it’s dumbed down a bit & some things aren’t as subtle as they are in the book.

Good things though? Kenneth Branagh is perfect as Professor Lockhart & this is the book/movie where I really started to love Ginny. Lucius Malfoy is also awesome & I’ve watched some of the extras for HP7.1 & he is SO unlike his character.

Ooh sexual tension between Ron & Hermione at the end of this one. Forgot about that. Book 4 was already out by the time the movie was released so I guess they knew it was coming.

Jill

3 Responses to “Recap: Chamber of Secrets”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer July 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    As I recently re-read this book, I realized just how funny it is. There are so many parts that made me grin to myself, it is so great.

    I forgot to mention on the last post, but I used to look down on the first two movies, but then I watched the DVD extras on my dad’s Harry Potter Ultimate Edition DVD and I see them in a whole new light now. Chris Columbus should have gotten 7 Oscars for making the movie that he did. Those kids knew nothing about acting when they made it. It showed all this footage of them doing take after take and Chris would be saying, “Dan, keep your head up, open you eyes wider, Rupert stop smiling, this is serious.” I honestly don’t know how he made anything watchable dealing with three 11 year-olds.

    It’s amazing to watch that, and then see the last movie and see how far they have come. 🙂

  2. 2 ngtjill July 25, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Wow, those extras sounds really interesting! I read a little about how Chris Columbus had to work with the kids in the HP issue of Entertainment Weekly. I always felt that way about the first 2 movies too, but after watching them again, they weren’t as bad as I remembered. You’re right though – it is amazing to see how far they’ve come from the first to last movies!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer July 25, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    The extras on the ultimate editions are AMAZING!!! I feel like they have been holding back all this cool behind the scenes footage just for those DVDs. I have only watched the special features on Sorcerer’s Stone, so I think I might casually steal them all from my dad the next time I go home so I can watch them all.


Leave a Reply

