Sooo extremely excited about Pottermore? Yes! but…..

I AM ALSO RIDICULOUSLY ANNOYED THAT ALL THE FANSITES GOT A PREVIEW!

I was soooo thrilled when I first saw the tweet about Pottermore for two reasons: 1. obviously new Harry Potter thingy but also 2. I had a reason to go visit all my old friends over at Leaky and Mugglenet and elsewhere to hear their discussions and see their insider theories!

This is what I read at Leaky:

Leaky has seen a preview of Pottermore and it is breathtaking.

Ummmmm really? REALLY?!

That’s it? THAT IS IT?!

Mugglenet said essentially the same thing.

I would compare what I am feeling now to what it is like when your unicorn turns on you.

WHYYYYYY? I am really really upset about this. I can’t blame them for looking at the preview–who would turn that down? Buuuuuut, it just made me sad. I wanted to feel something similar to what I felt in the years and months leading up to Deathly Hallows–where EVERYONE was wondering and hoping and feeling all at the same time. Instead, the Pottermore excitement crashed into the Whomping Willow. sigh.

Yup, I am seriously all frowny over this! And not because I am jealous that they got to see it before anyone else (because actually that kinda takes the fun out of the surprise, right?), but because they got to see it and thus are SWORN TO SECRECY, they cannot talk about Pottermore AT ALL. ummmmm, doesn’t that kind of suck all the fun out of a fan site? I kind of feel like I was pushed away for not being cool enough.

Me with all the fun sucked out of me. (Image via markopolio-stock of Deviant Art)

Okay, so now I have that off my chest, I will try to go back to being really super excited and hoping and wondering and feeling. Magic is real.

-Amber

3 Responses to “Sooo extremely excited about Pottermore? Yes! but…..”


  1. 1 ngtjill June 22, 2011 at 7:45 am

    Amber, you are so right. I didn’t even know the fansites got a preview but I don’t like it. That does take the fun out of it. Who wants to go to their site now if that’s all they can say. They can’t speculate like the rest of us.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay June 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    What I don’t understand is WHY they would get a preview if they couldn’t talk about it? How is this helping to hype anything?
    Also, I know what you mean about the being pushed away for not being cool enough thing. I feel like almost anything HP-related has become that way. It’s like, when did these people who used to be like us decide that they were better than us?

  3. 3 ngtjennifer June 22, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I also think it is really stupid. I kept going on to Leaky to see if people had posted their theories, but this explains why they haven’t done that, they already freaking know!!

    I am super nervous this is going to be a role playing game thing online. Entertainment Weekly looked into the copyright and trademark things registered for Pottermore and it basically said it was for the purposes of something like that. I would so NOT be excited about that. She needs to spend her time writing and not messing around with dumb stuff like that. (sorry, but the last thing I need is something that will cause me to waste away in front of a computer. I would rather waste away in front of a book like a true librarian.)


Leave a Reply

