Good Luck to the 48 Hour Book Challenge Participants!

Sorry folks, but for the first time in 3 years, I won’t be doing the 48 Hour Book Challenge.  It is a really busy weekend for me and thinking about squeezing the challenge into my schedule makes me feel stressed rather than happy.

This weekend is the annual city wide garage sales for our town and I have already been shopping it up over here.  I plan to go out way early tomorrow and hit the good sales.  One of the sales at the library has GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!!!  The last two years I have rushed through the sales like a crazy person to get back and read, but tomorrow I am going to take my time and browse to my heart’s content.  Then I have a teen program at night and a meeting on Sunday (ugh).  So I am not going to have a lot of time to read.

Not only will I be pressed for time, but I am also well on my way to my summer zombie-fied state.  I read like a freakin’ maniac during the rest of the year, but in the summer I literally stop functioning outside of work.  Last night was our summer reading kick off and there were like 400 people there.  After something like that I just want to sit on my couch and stare at the wall for days, because my brain literally can’t handle a book.  I will try to keep up my reading this summer, but my amount of books read is going to decrease dramatically from now until August.

So, I have rambled on for way to long, just to say that I’m not doing the challenge this year.  So good luck to everyone who is already reading away (go Abby!) and I hope you all reach your reading goals!

Jen

 

4 Responses to “Good Luck to the 48 Hour Book Challenge Participants!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay June 3, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I am totally with you on not participating. I would love to, but it’s not like I don’t already read enough and Andrew gets really pissed when I ignore him for long periods of time.
    But I am looking forward to reading reviews!
    And I hope you get lots of girl scout cookies! I am kicking myself for not grabbing a box of thin mints when I was up in Iowa the other weekend – my mom keeps a stock in our garage freezer. There are probably like 20 boxes in there! AAH!

  2. 2 ngtjill June 3, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Same here. Summer reading + a program on Sunday + REALLY needing to clean my apartment means I can’t participate. I might try to squeeze in reading if I can, but it won’t be as hardcore as if I were actually participating.

    I do love the marathon though & the one year I did it, I got through a ton of books & felt great about it. Maybe we can pick our own weekend to do one?

  3. 3 Abby June 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Thank you, thank you! I have been looking forward to this weekend for weeks! I bought special snacks and made sure that I had the whole weekend free… it’s like a holiday for me. 🙂

  4. 4 ngtjennifer June 4, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I managed to score two boxes of cookies this morning at the sale. I got Tagalongs and Carmel Delights. Yummy!!

    This weekend seems to not be the best one for children’s librarians since it is right at the beginning of summer reading, so it is probably hard for a lot of them to participate. That is probably why it is called a “challenge” 🙂

    And finally, go Abby go!!! You can do it!!!


Leave a Reply

