Abandon: The Negative

As Lindsay mentioned in her previous post about Meg Cabot’s Abandon, I was not a fan.  I figured instead of adding a lengthy comment on her post, I’d write my own.  So this post is about my reasons for disliking a book by Meg Cabot.

**SPOILER WARNING**

If you have not yet read Abandon, continue at your own risk.  I may (will probably) include some spoilers, so if you haven’t read it and are ok with that, then carry on.  However, I encourage you to run to your local library or a bookstore, read it for yourself and form your own opinions, and then read Lindsay’s post, then mine, and let us know what you think.

I’m not going to rewrite a summary when Lindsay already did that, so let’s just jump into it.

Ok, first of all, I had a HUGE problem with the way it was written.  The plot jumps around and is not told chronologically.  Some things are mentioned that happened earlier and it really confused me.  For example, when Pierce returns Mr. Smith’s phone call, it’s just tossed in there and it only took me a second read through to understand that it had happened EARLIER but she was mentioning it later.  I don’t know why it couldn’t have just been mentioned before whatever was happening when it was thrown in.  Another time this happened and confused me had something to do with Pierce and her mother talking to a guidance counselor and her necklace.  It still kind of confuses me, so sorry if that doesn’t make sense.

Another thing that really annoyed me was all of the cliffhangers.  Especially the ones that seem to start with “If I had known…”  Like If I had known this would be the last time I’d see John, I would have asked him some questions.  That is totally not a quote- I don’t have the copy of the book anymore.  Sorry.  Hopefully you know what I mean.  It seemed to be repeated all the time, and it got old.

The last big problem I have with it is the affair with the teacher.  Yes, I know sometimes, unfortunately, this happens in real life but I feel like this is a weird trend in YA books.  It annoys me that teachers get portrayed this way in books when that negative view always seems to beat out positive teacher role models in books.  And I am suddenly blanking on any positive teachers.  Oh wait!  Mr. G in Princess Diaries.  Ok, good.  Anyway, between this, TTYL, and Pretty Little Liars, there’s a lot of bad teachers out there.  So it bothered me to see another.  By the way, I swear I read a blog post within the last few months about this trend in YA lit but I have no idea which blog that was.  Anybody remember it?  Help!

Also, I do agree with Lindsay and her reasons not to like the story- John and Pierce’s “love” is weird to me too.  She repeatedly does the “Why would he like ME?” thing, which can be annoying.  I read a blog post about female characters that do that too much too.  Again, can’t remember where.  I need to save these or something.  If you read that and remember where, please let me know so I can reread it and link to it!

I don’t understand what’s going on with Uncle Chris or Alex either.  I assume that will be fleshed out later, but it was kind of frustrating to never find out.  Oh, I also disliked the rich kids using Pierce just for her house so they could hide the coffin.  I’m sad her mom fell for that.

Even though I didn’t like it, I might read the next one when it comes out.  Maybe.

– Jill

5 Responses to “Abandon: The Negative”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay May 29, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I have read PLL and TTYL and I’m not too alarmed at any bad teacher trend in literature right now. I can’t really think of any examples (other than Mr. G OF COURSE) of good teachers, but I totes magoats know they’re out there.
    I totally agree with all of your reasons for not liking the book, but I don’t know if it’s just because I adore Meg or what, but I just can’t seem to hold any of those reasons against her toooooo much, ya know?
    One thing I did appreciate was how the book talked about how schools tend not to talk too much about students dying because they don’t want to glamorize death or anything. I honestly can’t remember anyone who died WHILE I was in school, so I can’t say what my HS would have done, but it did make me think about what a school’s role was in student death.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer May 30, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    These are all reasons why I disliked it. I totally know what you mean about everything. I will definitely NOT be reading the next in the series because I can’t handle any more of Pierce.

  3. 3 Diana May 31, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I didn’t mind the non-chronological telling of the story. Sometimes it was a little confusing, but not enough to really bug me.

    I think the next two books will have more action, which I’m looking forward to. This first book had a lot of set up and explaining, which I understand was necessary.

    Jill, I have a strong feeling that Seth Vector’s dad was Pierce’s mom’s former hometown boyfriend. Not sure if that was one of the reasons that she was so eager to let the rich kids use the house to hide the coffin. I’m definitely suspicious of Seth and his crew. No good can come from a boy who looks like a Ken doll (that’s how I imagine him in my head anyway). 😛

    This isn’t about Abandon, but is Meg Cabot-related and is about something that we all can agree on: our love for Princess Diaries. Have you ladies seen Mia’s account of the royal wedding. She mentions Michael a lot, which I know you will love. 🙂

    http://www.miathermopolis.com/

    Also, if we pooled our money together, maybe we can come up with more than $1600 and have tea with Meg at the Plaza Hotel in New York. 😛

    http://brendanovak.auctionanything.com/Bidding.taf?_function=detail&Auction_uid1=2022032

  4. 4 ngtjill June 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Diana, I bet you are right about Seth Vector’s dad & Pierce’s mom! That makes a lot more sense now.

    And I did see that post about the royal wedding. I loved it!

  5. 5 ngtjennifer June 4, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    MICHAEL!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

