Family Traditions – Harry Potter

I saw a trailer for Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part II and it reminded me of a sort-of tradition my family has:  If we can, we try to see the Harry Potter movies together.  It started back when Sorcerer’s Stone came out because so many of my family members had read the books.

I first discovered the books when I was babysitting two cousins.  One of them had borrowed Sorcerer’s Stone from a friend, and after the girls went to bed, I picked up the book and started reading.  From then we were all hooked and everytime I babysat, we would look up trivia, quizzes, and possible spoilers for future books (this was a little before Goblet of Fire came out).  I read faster than them, and I still remember when I accidentally spoiled Prisoner of Azkaban because I said I loved Sirius.  Oops.

So naturally when the first movie came out around Thanksgiving, a ton of family decided to all go.  By then a lot of them had read the books.  We had a group of at least 14 family members and family friends.  After the movie, on the drive back to one of our houses, I remember discussing with my cousins, and an aunt & uncle how the movie compared to the book.  I think we were able to all see Chamber of Secrets together too.  For some of the others, it was harder for all of us to get together, but I do remember watching the DVD for Prisoner of Azkaban A LOT with family because one of my cousins and I still quote “Why don’t you go play with your chemistry set” all the time.  🙂

I’m really hoping that when the final movie comes out, my family members will be able to get together to see it again.  Either way, I cannot wait for it!

– Jill

6 Responses to “Family Traditions – Harry Potter”


  1. 1 disturbedprincess April 27, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    I’ve read the books and I like them but willthe movies ruin the books?

  2. 2 ngtjill April 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    I don’t think the movies ruin the books. For the most part, they are very true to the books. And if there are some things that are off for you (slight changes or missing characters, for example), there will be other things to make up for it (fabulous casting, for me). The movies definitely get better, but I think they are all good.

  3. 3 Diana April 27, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    This last movie will be EPIC! I can’ wait!

  4. 4 Ipodman April 28, 2011 at 8:41 am

    The trailer for Deathly Hallows Part 2 looks epic… I have no idea what Harry Potter is all about, but I’ve seen all the movies and most of them are very good, so yea I’m excited for this final movie!

  5. 5 ngtjennifer April 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    My family also has a tradition of Harry Potter. My Dad and my sister and I have been to the last three midnight releases for the books. We don’t always catch the movies together because we are far apart, but the book releases are more special to me than the movies.

  6. 6 ngtlindsay April 29, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    *HP related shrieks emanating from Nashville* GUYS WE LIKE NEED TO GO SEE THIS TOGETHER OR AT LEAST AT THE SAME TIME!


Leave a Reply

