Am I Too Old To Go To “Prom?”

I spent last weekend at home with my family and I kept trying to convince my sister that we needed to go see the movie Prom.  I kept pushing her because I knew she was one of the only people who would not be embarrassed to go with me.  She is a 27 year-old who loves Justin Bieber and the Disney Channel (there is no doubt that we are related) so I knew she would be game to see this movie. I was devastated to learn that the movie doesn’t come out until THIS weekend.  Rats!  My great plan was foiled.

Now I will have to try to convince my much more mature local friends to see this with me.  I guess I could be the creepy old person who goes to a kids movie by herself.  I have been there, done that.  Or I could wait until Mother’s Day weekend and go with Anne then.

But really, I don’t know if I will be able to wait because the movie looks completely awesome.

I am pumped because it has the dorky glowing kid from Sky High in it.  Also, the totally hot guy with the long hair (come on, you know he is gorgeous) is like 24, so it is not inappropriate to drool over him.

I am going to see a grownup movie tonight (Water for Elephants) so I can make up for that by going to see Prom this weekend.

Jen

8 Responses to “Am I Too Old To Go To “Prom?””


  1. 1 Abby April 27, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    OMG I would totally go see Prom with you! If ONLY we weren’t several states apart! *sob*

  2. 2 Diana April 27, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    No, you are definitely not too old to see Prom! I want to see it, too. My reasons are mostly because of the actors who are in the movie: 1) Aimee Teegarden from Friday Night Lights. Do any of you Nerdgirls watch this excellent show? If so, please blog about it so I can gush about it some more. 2) Nicholas Braun. I’ve never seen Sky High, but I think he may be the dorky glowing kid that you mentioned, Jen. I like him because he played dorky, lovable Cameron on the now-cancelled TV show 10 Things I Hate About You. 3) Totally hot guy (otherwise known as Thomas McDonell). I don’t know much about him other than he’s hot. What is it about these dark-haired loner rebel types that is so appealing? 4) Jonathan Keltz, who was in one of my all-time favorite episodes of Cold Case.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    I will admit that I have never watched Friday Night Lights. I feel like it might be too emotionally overwhelming for me. I know I would probably love it though. Nicholas Braun was also in a Disney Channel movie called Minutemen which was AMAZING!

    And Abby, I will think of you if I go see it this weekend of next. 🙂

  4. 4 ngtjill April 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Diana, I’ve seen most of the first season of Friday Night Lights before I stopped for some reason. I’m not a big sports person, but I did like the show a lot more than I thought.

  5. 5 Diana April 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Jen, Friday Night Lights can be a tearjerker at times, but don’t let that deter you from giving it a try. The actors do a great job portraying characters whose lives in which you really get invested. I finally gave it a try last summer after hearing Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen constantly rave about it on their respective blogs. I’m so glad I did!

    Jill, I’m not a sports person at all. If someone had told me years ago that I’d be obsessed with a show that on the outside seems to be about football in Texas (even though it’s so much more than that), I would’ve laughed in their face. I recently watched all 13 episodes of the last season in one day. It was excellent! 🙂 I hope you give it another try.

  6. 6 ngtjennifer April 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    It sounds a lot like Everwood to me….I don’t know why, but I adore Everwood, so I am sure I will give it a chance soon.

  7. 7 ngtlindsay April 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    For some reason I have no desire to see this movie. Maybe I need to watch the trailer again?
    Also, never seen FNL. Seems a daunting task.

  8. 8 ngtjennifer April 29, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I was really hoping to go see it this weekend, but I am sick as a dog right now, so I will not be going anywhere all weekend.


Leave a Reply

