The Last Little Blue Envelope!

There are at least 2 exciting books that come out today. One is Meg Cabot’s new YA novel Abandon, which from what I can tell is a retelling of Persephone.  But this post is unfortunately not about that book because I haven’t read it yet.

The other exciting book that comes out today is The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson!

It’s the sequel to 13 Little Blue Envelopes, and if you haven’t read that yet, I recommend skipping this post and going to read it ASAP.

Ok, everyone who has read 13 Little Blue Envelopes still with me?  Good.  So if you remember from that book, Ginny’s aunt Peg recently passed away and she sent Ginny a package of 13 letters taking her on a European adventure following specific rules and getting her out of her shell.  And you may remember that as Ginny went through her aunt’s letters that the final letter was stolen.  Well, in The Last Little Blue Envelope, you guessed it, she gets it back.

One day, as Ginny is back home, wondering what’s up with her sort-of boyfriend Keith and contemplating what to do with her life post-high school, she gets an email from a guy named Oliver claiming to have her last letter.  So Ginny decides to go back to England over her Christmas break, get the letter, and visit Keith.  Unfortunately things don’t go as she imagined.  The final letter takes her on a new journey across Europe with Keith and two more…hmm…I’ll just go with companions.

I was lucky enough to read The Last Little Blue Envelope thanks to NetGalley.  And I LOVED it!  I honestly think it is even better than the first one.  The first book left us hanging.  I could not stop thinking about what was in the last letter.  We finally get to find out in this book, and it is so fulfilling.  I don’t want to say too much because I’ll spoil a wonderful book, but I can say there are new people and new adventures that invoke all kinds of emotions.  So go read it and then let’s talk again.  🙂

– Jill

3 Responses to “The Last Little Blue Envelope!”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I haven’t read 13 Little Blue Envelopes, so I couldn’t read the whole post. I do have both books at my library though, so hopefully I will get around to it.

  2. 2 Diana April 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I’ve never read anything by Maureen Johnson, but hope to soon. I recently ordered two books by her: Suite Scarlett and Girl at Sea (bargain book sale on Amazon).

    I hope you get to read Meg Cabot’s Abandon soon. It’s really good!!!

  3. 3 ngtjill April 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Diana, Maureen Johnson’s books are great! I really enjoyed Suite Scarlett, Scarlett Fever, and The Key to the Golden Firebird.

    I’m hoping to get my hands on Abandon today!


Leave a Reply

