Classic Must-Sees: Hitchcock

I’m a big fan of Alfred Hitchcock movies.  So far I’ve seen 18 of his films.  They’re CLASSIC thriller/suspense films.  So many of his films are so iconic that people use the techniques or spoof his movies in other films or tv shows.  I most recently noticed this in the season 4 finale of Psych.  And it was done so well!

Even if you’ve never seen any of his films, I’m sure you’ve at least heard of his most famous movies:  Rear Window, Psycho, The Birds, and probably North by Northwest.  Those are all good.  But these are some of my lesser-known favorites…

Shadow of a Doubt

Young Charlotte “Charlie” is bored with her life.  So she’s thrilled to learn that her uncle Charlie, her mother’s exciting younger brother, is coming for a visit.  Uncle Charlie is quite a charmer but when two men appear asking questions, Young Charlie starts to question what she knows about her uncle.

This movie is very suspenseful.  Young Charlie’s life is in danger more than once, and I am always on the edge of my seat to find out what’s going to happen.  Joseph Cotton is perfect as the charming Uncle Charlie.

Notorious

Notorious might just be my favorite Hitchcock film.  Not only is it incredibly suspenseful, but the acting is amazing.  You’d probably expect it to be good with Cary Grant, Ingrid Bergman, and Claude Raines (from Casablanca and Mr. Smith Goes to Washington), but the woman who plays Claude Raines’ character’s mother is perfectly villainous.  In this film, Ingrid Bergman’s character, Alicia is a woman whose father was convicted of treason.  She then meets Cary Grant’s character Devlin (how awesome is that name??), a government agent who convinces her to spy on Nazi friends of her father’s.  To infiltrate their group, she takes big risks – all when she is falling in love with Devlin.

Dial M for Murder

I saw this film most recently, and it was SO much better than I expected.  I don’t know what took me so long to watch it!  I guess I was being snobby about it being in color or something and thinking the B&W ones are better, but this one is awesome too.  In this one, a man concocts a plan to blackmail an old friend to murder his wife, Grace Kelly’s character.  But when it goes wrong, he improvises a new plan.  This one also had me on the edge of my seat.  I honestly wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  I really want to watch it again!

Do you have any Hitchcock faves?

– Jill

1 Response to “Classic Must-Sees: Hitchcock”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 23, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I will admit that I have only seen his most famous films. Out of those, my fave has to be Rear Window. Grace Kelly is soooooo beautiful and elegant and I love Perry Mason being all scary and mean!

    I bet the IC library has all of these on DVD, so I will have to have a marathon some time.


Leave a Reply

