People Puppy Chow

At my teen cooking class this month, we did TWO things.  One was Lindsay’s Cake in a Cup recipe.  They totally loved it!  And they took most of the leftover cake mix home with them to make later.  One girl was taking it for a sleepover this weekend.  🙂

The other snack we made was People Puppy Chow.  Now my mom used to make this when I was little and she just called it Puppy Chow, but a few coworkers reminded me about it and they call it People Puppy Chow, which I loved.  When my mom made it when I was little, I don’t remember really eating it.  Why?  Because apparently there was something wrong with me!

Puppy Chow is AWESOME!  Seriously.  Peanut butter, chocolate, powdered sugar?  It’s like heaven in your hand.  I may have to make some for myself ASAP.  Do you like puppy chow?  The teens at my class hadn’t heard of it.

Here’s my mom’s recipe if you want to try it for yourself:

1 box Crispex cereal
1 bag choc. chips
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 stick margarine
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
microwave
large resealable plastic bag
wax paper

Place cereal in large bowl, set aside.
In 1 qt. microwave safe bowl, combine choc. pieces, p. butter and margarine.
Microwave on high for 1 to 1 1/2 min. or until smooth, stirring after 1 min.
Stir in vanilla.
Pour over cereal, stirring until all pieces are evenly coated.
Place mixture and powdered sugar into a large resealable bag and shake until all pieces are well coated.
Spread on wax paper to cool.
Store in airtight container or resealable plastic bag.

– Jill

4 Responses to “People Puppy Chow”


  1. 1 imakeeper April 22, 2011 at 11:54 am

    I’m making Puppy Chow to bring to Easter gatherings… can’t go wrong with this snack! Sometimes I like to add pretzels or peanuts to it too

    🙂

  2. 2 Abby April 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    I don’t think my family every made puppy chow, but I think maybe my friends would share it with me around Christmas time. Love it!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 22, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    My mom used to send puppy chow back with me every time I came home from college. She still does it on occasion.

  4. 4 Amber April 22, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I made Puppy Chow every year to take to school for my birthday! And I made people bark for it. which they totally did.

    My recipe is 6 cups Crispex, 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1/2 bag of choco chips, and as much powdered sugar as you need 🙂


Leave a Reply

