Judy Moody

OK, second post of the day, so this kinda sorta not really makes up for Friday’s missed post. Maybe I will do two some other day to make up for Saturday. Probably not though.

I alerted my fellow nerd girls to this upcoming movie last week when we were all hanging out.

Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer. Now, I have only read one Judy Moody book (a crime, I know). And it seems to me that this movie will probably not be based on the books at all. I read the first book a couple of months ago and I vaguely remember it being about beginning school and Judy not feeling like she did anything cool during the summer (that’s why she made the I Ate a Shark t-shirt…which is awesome and I kind of want even though I have never, and will never, eat a shark). Based on this, it seems to me that the movie is using the first book as a jumping off point but in reverse? I’m trying to make sense in my head of it and I’m having a really hard time. Hopefully my fellow NGs will help me out here in the comments.

So anyways. I will probably see this movie because it does look kind of cute in a Ramona and Beezus sort of way (which I absolutely adored BTW). However I can’t help but feel like this movie won’t have any of the heart that R & B had. I don’t especially like or hate Heather Graham, but I feel like she’s altogether too inappropriately sexy for a children’s movie like Judy Moody. Too much boobage and short shorts, I think. I mean, how old is she? (**Edited to add: I just looked it up. She’s 41) She’s got to be in her 30s at least. Also, I really hate all the glasses in the preview. Seriously, what is wrong with normal glasses, movie folks? These big thick glasses just look stupid. I know it’s kind of trendy right now, but I still maintain that it looks super STUPID. Maybe it’s because they’re round? Now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t so much mind thick square/rectangle frames, but the big thick circles just make me think that the movie’s trying to hard too be cartoony.

Now, I have to think if there are any selling points for this movie, since I DID say that I would probably watch the movie. I will admit, the girl who plays Judy seems to have kind of a sassy thing going on, which is good because I do imagine Judy to be pretty sassy. Although movie Judy feels a bit more outgoing to me, whereas book Judy always seemed like she’d be the kind of kid who would go through an extended goth period in her teens (just me?).

So anyways, you be the judge! Judy Moody readers, does this preview make you feel like justice will be done for the series? Or does it seem like Heather Graham’s agent dreamt up this movie to make her more likable to the younger generation?

Huggles, Lindsay

4 Responses to “Judy Moody”


  1. 1 ngtjill April 18, 2011 at 9:30 am

    I *just* remembered about the Judy Moody movie when I saw it in my recent Entertainment Weekly, and I am very upset about it. I LOVE the books, and it bothers me that the movie is different. As long as Megan McDonald is involved in writing the screenplay, I guess it’s better, but I dislike that her parents get shipped out of the movie. They are great parents and are in every book. The aunt thing makes it feel more like Allie Finkle (though that’d be with an uncle). And Judy and Stink look NOTHING like I pictured them. I don’t know…maybe it’ll be ok, but I’m still kind of upset.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 18, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I agree that it doesn’t seem to have any of the heart that Ramona and Beezus had. Every time I watch that movie I cry big crocodile tears of happiness. I do not think I will get that feeling from Judy Moody.

    Also, hate Heather Graham as the mom.

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 18, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Heather Graham isn’t the mom – that’s the lady with the huge black glasses and flipped brown hair. Heather Graham is Aunt Opal who looks like she’s in her freaking 20s.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer April 18, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Okay, okay…..I obviously hadn’t watched the trailer yet…..let me just say that Stink is totally all wrong!!! The parents look really wrong too. They look like some teenagers pretending to be parents.


Leave a Reply

