Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?

I absolutely adore everything Carmen Sandiego. I played the game back when computers operated on DOS. I lived for the show on PBS. I  discovered Rockapella because of Carmen Sandiego. I am still convinced that I would have rocked the ass off of that show. Seriously, I would totally have won (as I would have at Legends of the Hidden Temple and Double Dare and Guts, oh and also Nick Arcade and basically any game show that was for kids back in the 90s – damn in Iowa! Why couldn’t you have had Nickelodeon or PBS studios??)

Thought: Carmen is in her 50s. No one else is allowed to wear a red hat...

Anyways, I love Carmen and her beautiful hair and her gorgeous red coat (confession – I have a light red coat that I wear in the spring and fall and every time I wear it I like to pretend….). So imagine how I excited I was when on a whim tonight I looked on the internet to see if I could play the game online and I found it! The DOS version! But on the internet. So now it only takes me about 3 minutes to finish a case instead of the 30 it usually took because the computers back in the early 90s craaaaaawled.

You can join in too!

http://dosdose.com/game/13/where_in_the_world_is_carmen_sandiego/

I’ve only solved one case – Thanks to my help, the Columbo police have apprehended Fast Eddie B! And like, a porcelain fan or something has been saved. I don’t know, I wasn’t paying attention in the beginning. I can’t wait until I make it to gumshoe. It should take me maybe another ten minutes.

Happy Sleuthing!

Lindsay

**After a few minutes, I have advanced to sleuth. Also, ACME prisons must suck because I captured Dazzle Annie and then two cases later had to RECAPTURE her. Seriously, ACME, beef up your security!

3 Responses to “Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 13, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I loved this show so much when I was growing up!!! I so wanted to go on the show and get to the final challenge with the big map. I probably would have done really bad it I had gotten anything other than the US though.

  2. 2 Amber April 13, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Oh gosh, I needed to go to bed early tonight but now that is so not going to happen…I HAVE TO TRAVEL THE WORLD AND SOLVE CASES!

    I remember one summer, my mom only allowed me and my brother to watch one hour of tv each day. Me, being all sneaky, decided that she meant one hour of programming each, so when Levi would choose to watch Carmen Sandiego, I watched it, too and then allowed myself one full hour of Muppet Babies.

    Also, you discussing your coat made me realize that Carmen Sandiego is like the best costume idea ever.

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 13, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    @Jen – did you ever hear about the kid who fell down and broken his or her leg during the map challenge?? They didn’t air it, but I’ve TOTALLY heard that.
    @Amber – 1. I adore that Levi chose Carmen Sandiego. That is why he is my pretend big bro. 2. Muppet babies, YES. 3. I am a little shocked that your mom limited your tv time. You’re like my tv monster. 4. Speaking of monsters – here is a joke from my youth: Why did the monster throw up? A: Because he ate the tv. I remember thinking that we were the funniest kids on earth, and now I look back and think…well, I’m not really sure WHAT to think.


Leave a Reply

