Family Traditions – Oscar Movie Marathon

If you’re a long-time reader of our blog, you’ve probably seen my two previous posts about the Oscar Movie Marathon that I’ve attended.  But it actually started before then…

As far as I can tell, the marathon hosted by AMC began in 2008 with 5 Best Picture nominees (2007 movies):  No Country for Old Men, Atonement, Juno, Michael Clayton, and There Will Be Blood.  My aunt and cousin Jess attended that one that started it all.

The next year, my aunt, cousin Josh, and I realized we’d be in the same area when the 2009 (2008 movies) Best Picture marathon would occur.  The movies?  Milk, The Reader, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Frost/Nixon, and Slumdog Millionaire.  Now I actually only saw the last 4 because I, with the other NerdGirls, was busy MEETING MEG CABOT but I remember thinking that 4 movies in a row was pretty intense.

Then came 2009, when the Academy decided to increase the number of Best Picture nominees from 5 to 10.  We were all atwitter to find out how AMC would run their marathon.  They soon announced that they would break it up between 2 Saturdays (5 movies each) and people could opt for 1 or both days OR you could go hardcore and watch all 10 in a 24-hour period.  Not only did my aunt, cousin Josh, and I decide to do the 24 hour marathon, but my cousin Jess and sister Jamie decided to join us.  And yes, it was intense and disorienting, but it was also awesome.  Not only did I got to see all of the “best” movies for the year, but I got to do it with some pretty cool people and discuss our opinions instantly with each other.

This year the 2010 movies were again 10 and we all decided to continue the tradition of attending the 24-hour movie marathon.  And we also added on 2 people, friends, that meant we had a group of 7.  Again, it was awesome.  And watching the movies all together just before the Oscars made watching the Oscars a lot of fun.  Although the wine, various delicious cheese and veggie dips, bingo, and prizes probably helped make our Oscar party fun too…

So, if you like to see great movies and are up for intense, but fun!, situations, think about joining us next year for the 24-hour movie marathon in Chicago.  🙂

– Jill

5 Responses to “Family Traditions – Oscar Movie Marathon”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay April 13, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I still think you are craaaaazy for sitting still that long! I think I would develop restless leg syndrome or something. I am just not a sitter I think. Although I know I do not have ADHD. Or at least, according to the internet test I took a few weeks ago I don’t have ADHD. That’s right. I took a self diagnosing test because I was concerned about my focus level.
    Eh, I probably don’t have any problems since I’m able to sit and read or internet browse or watch episodes of Buffy for long periods of time.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    I am impressed that you can do the 24 hour marathon. I honestly don’t think I could stay up that long without turning into a total grump.

  3. 3 Amber April 13, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    I always tell everyone about how you and your family do this–I think it is like the coolest thing ever.

  4. 4 ngtjill April 16, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Lol thanks guys. This year my cousin Jess led us (although I was the only one who did it) in stretching activities. And we had a nice long dinner break so we could venture out into the real world and find real food.


  1. 1 Nerdy Book Discussion News « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on February 7, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

