Road Trip

In July I will be heading back to Florida for another vacation.  Woo!

The return trip will be a nice long road trip from Florida to Illinois.

Wow, that's a long route.

Fortunately, I will not be doing much driving during this road trip.  However, I have decided to take on the role of Head of Activities Planning for my fellow road-trippers:  my aunt and 2 female cousins (ages 15 and 10).

Here’s where you come in.  Do you know any road trip games or activities that would help us stay entertained?  Ideally these games will include the driver and can work with 3-4 people (my 15-year-old cousin is a teen, after all).   So far I’ve thought of

  • Mad Libs
  • Trivia games via Sporcle
  • License plate game
  • Travel Bingo

I’d love any and all suggestions whether recommended from experience or not!  Thanks!

– Jill

4 Responses to “Road Trip”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 12, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Well, I don’t know a lot about travel games, but I know when my family used to take a long road trip, we would read a book out loud. We did Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and some of the Fudge books when I was younger.

  2. 2 aroundtheusin30days April 12, 2011 at 11:04 am

    There are a number of road game apps available – we plan to use them. We also found a game called Rubber Neckers which we played in 2006 when we moved from Oregon to New York – it was a lot of fun for us five who ranged from 6 to 50 in the car. http://www.amazon.com/Rubberneckers-Everyones-Favorite-Travel-Game/dp/0811822176

    Be safe!

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 12, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    20 questions!
    Also, the alphabet sign game – this is hard when it comes to q and x and z, obviously.
    Hm. You could always bring trivial pursuit cards! I used to do that with my dad when we went on road trips.
    What about iSpy?
    Then there the games where you pick a category, for example, Disney movies, where you go around the car and name off Disney movies and see how many times you can go without skipping a person or repeating a movie.
    Or, speaking of Disney movies, Andrew and I play a game where one of us names a movie and then the other one has to sing a few snippets of a song from that movie. Can you tell we love Disney? Oooh, sometimes we name characters from the movies and try to figure out which movie they’re from (not hard), but we do try to trip each other up with obscure characters.

  4. 4 ngtjill April 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    All fabulous ideas! Thanks everyone!


Leave a Reply

