Not cool, US Weekly.

so the other day, I tweeted about how UPSET I was with US Weekly–here’s why: I often disagree with the result of their “Who wore it best?” feature, but on this particular occasion I was OUTRAGED with US Weekly’s complete cattiness (whereas I am normally just annoyed with the “100 people on Rockefeller Plaza” who don’t think the way I do)! In the magazine they posted pictures of four beautiful ladies in the same Lanvin black dress. All looked completely lovely, the dress flattered ALL of their figures, yet US Weekly reported that one of the girls got 0% of the vote! First I was just mad because this is the girl I would have voted for and I was all “WAHHH CAN’T EVERYONE SEE SHE LOOKS AMAZING!”

But then I started thinking, why did US Weekly even post the picture if it got no votes? They could have just published the other three and no feelers hurt! no embarrassment! no uncomfortableness! Because that is how the “Who wore it best” feature made me feel: uncomfortable and sad. What if that had been me with 0%? I would have laughed it off and pretended that it was a TOTAL LARK–such irrelevant silliness! but then I would have gone back to my room and sat on my bed and frowned for awhile before crying and watching Bridget Jones three times in a row until I was ready to dance around the world again.

Later when I was trying to describe the situation to the nerdgirls, I searched for the image on US Weekly’s website, and this is what I found:

ONLY THREE! huh, so they also must have been uncomfortable about it and so took her photo out for the web version! But…was that the best thing? Because I was all ready to put in my online vote for her! and then she wouldn’t have been at 0%! and I am pretty sure that I am not the only one who would have voted for her because she looks FANTASTIC.

Here she is, famous nerdgirl, Ms. Chelsea Clinton!

Adorable, right?!

–Amber

5 Responses to “Not cool, US Weekly.”


  1. 1 Sheila April 10, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    I agree. I definitely think Ms. Clinton wears the dress well. Perhaps with the tights she doesn’t look quite as chic as the others? But she still looks damn good! It’s a lovely dress…

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 11, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I actually like it better WITH the tights.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 11, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I would just like to point out that her hair looks fabulous in that picture!!!

  4. 4 ngtjill April 11, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I would LOVE her awesome curly, wavy hair!

  5. 5 ngtlindsay April 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Oooh, her hair DOES look amazing!


Leave a Reply

