How I (Will Eventually) Me(e)t Your Mother

This is one of my favorite shows on the TV nowadays. Thanks to Netflix and the lovely Miss Jill, I was able to get caught up all the way in time for the current season (Six). I am now a faithful watcher of the show and am all the way up to date. It’s funny though, you know? Because my least favorite character on the show? Ted. Ha! And he’s like the main character! Now, that doesn’t mean that I don’t like Ted. I do. It’s just that I like everybody else better. I think it may have something to do with the uneven number of guys on the show. For example – Lily and Robin (I’m not counting the blond chick who Ted is dating right now, especially because I can’t remember her name, but I do know that she’s not the mother!) play nicely off of each other. Ted and Marshall play well off each other, and Ted and Barney play well off of each other. But you put Ted, Marshall and Barney together? Marshall and Barney instantly stand out as way more likable to me. Also, does anyone else feel like Ted comes off as a bit whiny? Just me?

But my ambivalence towards Ted was not the reason for this post. No. The reason for this post was for me to finally air a certain grievance about this show. Are you ready for it? Ok. Here it is. Where the fuck is the mother? I have sat through almost 6 entire years of this and all we have seen of the mother is a glimpse of her ankle. Her fucking ankle. Every now and then, the show will remember that Ted has been telling his children the story of how he met their mother. They used to incorporate the mother part more often. Lately though? It’s like the mother is an afterthought.

What do I know about the mother? 1. She lived with a girl Ted dated and never met Ted during that time. 2. She had a yellow umbrella that Ted took from a bar. 3. She plays the guitar. 4. She’s white, or she could be some other ethnicity with a skin graft on her lower leg and foot. Who’s to know? But the kids look pretty white. Although David Henrie, who plays the son, portrays a half Latino on Wizards of Waverly Place, so possibly the mother is Latina? I wouldn’t know though! Because I am beginning to suspect that the mother isn’t real and the kids aren’t real and this has all been Ted’s alternate reality ala Sucker Punch and he’s really in a mental hospital. 5. She has Beatles paraphernalia.

I feel like I’m reaching a breaking point with this show. Yes, it’s funny. That’s awesome. But every now and then I’ll look at my husband and go, wait, didn’t the last episode make it seem like we were finally going to meet the mother? And then they do an episode about a goat? What the fuck!? This wouldn’t be a problem if the show had a different title, but the creators of the show, or whoever the powers be at CBS who came up with this show decided that it should be called HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER. And see, because of the title, I EXPECT TO BE TOLD THE STORY OF HOW TED ACTUALLY MEETS HIS GAWDAM WIFE. I feel like that’s not too much to ask!

Now, hopefully this post will be invalid soon due to the show FINALLY introducing us to Mrs. Mosby. Old Ted did say that he met his wife at a wedding, and we know that he’s going to be the best man in his old best friend’s wedding. But that begs the question – are they going to have the wedding this season? Next season? When Ted FINALLY freaking meets his future wife, will the show be over? Deep questions here.

Alright, that’s it for today’s post. I have to go pack! AAAHH!! I’m going to see the nerd girls in less than 24 hours! And we’re going to watch iCarly and eat pizza and wrock out! EEEK!!

<3s, Lindsay!

 

 

7 Responses to “How I (Will Eventually) Me(e)t Your Mother”


  1. 1 Diana April 7, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    I don’t know why I don’t watch this show. I’ve only seen episodes here and there. I mean, I loved Jason Segel in Freaks and Geeks, Alyson Hannigan in Buffy, and Neil Patrick Harris as Doogie. Why aren’t I watching this show?

  2. 2 ngtjill April 7, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Yay, a HIMYM post! I still love this show. Sometimes I have issues about how they keep postponing the mother and we thought it was Stella way back when and it WASN’T. But I think I’ve gotten over it. Sure sometimes it’s super annoying, but I don’t want the show to end because I love the characters, so I guess I just put up with it.

    And I totally agree with Ted being the least likable and annoying. You are so right.

    For awhile I didn’t think the newer episodes were great, but then there was the episode where Marshall was back home to take care of his mom and there were all the Clue references. That episode is amazing. Did you notice that characters were all wearing the correct color? And the Hertz donut joke? Totally fell for that when I was a kid. I kind of want to rewatch that episode right now.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 8, 2011 at 10:20 am

    I watched this show from the very first episode, but gave up somewhere in season two. I’m not sure why, I just wasn’t into it any more. I do LOVE Lily and Marshall and Barney…..so maybe it was my ambivalence about Ted and the stupid never-ending “mother” thing that caused me to stop.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 8, 2011 at 10:57 am

    @Diana Probably because you know that WE WILL NEVER FIND OUT WHO THE MOTHER IS.

  5. 5 ngtlindsay April 8, 2011 at 10:58 am

    @Jen You inspired me to give up Being Human these past few months. I realized that I felt like it was a chore to watch the show and so I was like, hey, if I were Jen, I’d just stop watching! And so I did. And now I am so much happier.

  6. 6 ngtjill April 8, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I gave up on Glee and totally felt like I was pulling a Jen. I was so proud of myself!

  7. 7 ngtjennifer April 10, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    I always try to be a good influence for all of you. None of us have time to devote to tv shows once they get all crappy. And if they get awesome again, then there are always DVDs!


Leave a Reply

