Family Traditions – March Madness

The NCAA basketball games have just ended, but that’s another tradition my family has.  Every year – for the last 4 or 5 years now – we have set up a family pool for the men’s bracket.  We run in it Yahoo (where our family group is set up – yeah, we have a family group in Yahoo where we can share info & news.  It started before most of my older cousins & aunt and uncles got on facebook, but is still used because some of the family – *cough* my parents *cough* – are scared of Facebook and will not join).  Usually we get about 8-ish family members to join, but this year we had 13 in the men’s bracket.  AND this year we started a bracket for the women’s tournament!

The best part is the prize.  The winner of the men’s tournament gets milkshakes from all the losers.  Unfortunately, I never seem to remember to pay up to the winners because we all live in different places.  But I will be paying on them this year because this year I WON!  And I know NOTHING about the basketball teams in the tournament except that I recognize many of them from previous years.  I beat people who actually watch basketball games that AREN’T for the tournament!  Of course it helped that this year’s final four was kind of crazy…

Unfortunately, I did not win the women’s tournament.  That prize is high fives.  😦

Do any of you watch the games?  Do you make picks for the tournament?

– Jill

4 Responses to “Family Traditions – March Madness”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 6, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    I am embarrassed to admit that the only part of any March madness game that I caught was when I was hanging out with my friends on St. Patrick’s Day. There were a lot of games on in the bar, so that counts as watching them, right?

  2. 2 Diana April 6, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    I don’t usually keep up with sports, but this year I watched a lot more of the NCAA men’s basketball games than previous years. I think it helped that two underdogs made it so far (VCU and Butler).

  3. 3 ngtjill April 6, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Jen, watching in the bar counts to me! I don’t normally watch much of it at all.

    Diana, there were a lot of good games. Some of my family is from Indianapolis, so we had to cheer for Butler. Plus it was adorable to see John Green’s tweets about them. 🙂

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 6, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Oooh, I filled out a bracket this year too. I had Ohio State winning the whole shebang. They busted my bracket and I was not a happy camper. Andrew chose Purdue to win, which was incredibly stupid as Iowa had just beaten them the week before the tourney began. If Iowa beats you, you’re not going to be winning any championships that year…


Leave a Reply

