For Jen – and anyone else who loves PSYCH

You know you’re obsessed with the USA tv show Psych when…

  • You have started to eat more pineapple.  Sure, it’s mostly on pizza, but still.
  • You have a dream where Shawn is interested in you, not Juliet.
  • Anytime you hear someone describe the show The Mentalist, you assume they’re talking about Psych (because the plots are basically the same).
  • Every little blue car you see around town reminds you of Gus.
  • Every little blue car you see around town that reminds you of Gus also makes you remember hearing somewhere (an audio commentary?) that the little blue car Gus drives is actually only sold in Canada, and since you’re not in Canada, it’s not Gus.  Yeah, that’s actually your thought process that makes you conclude it can’t be Gus.
  • You kind of want to take a vacation to Vancouver so you can try to track down where Psych is filming.
  • You follow Dulé Hill on twitter.
  • You totally want the adorable-ness at the end of the roller derby episode to happen to you…preferably with Shawn.  (Apologies for not having a video.  I can’t find one easily on youtube, and I don’t want to watch too many videos since I haven’t seen season 5 yet.)
  • You downloaded the Boyz II Men version of the theme song from the episode High Top Fade Out.

Maybe I’ll do a post sometime about why you should watch Psych.

P.S.  I just discovered Psych-outs today, and this one made me laugh A LOT.  Enjoy!

– Jill

5 Responses to “For Jen – and anyone else who loves PSYCH”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 5, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Ack! Jill I love you!!! You are amazing!! I totally didn’t know Dule Hill was on Twitter! Thanks for the info.

    I totally have dreams about Shawn all the time. 🙂

    One of my favorite things is when they change up the theme song. I love the Spanish version and the Indian version (I think they did an Indian version) but the Boy II Men has to be the best ever.

    One of my favorite Psych-Outs is from one of the Christmas episodes when they randomly break out in the Peanuts Christmas dance. So classic. I also adore one from the season 4 ep (Death is in the Air maybe) when Shawn and Gus are talking to Juliet and Carlton outside and at the end of a bunch of ridiculous stuff Maggie looks at the camera and says “that’s my boyfriend.” Great stuff!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 6, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Oooh, I’ll have to look into the Psych-Outs! I lurve Psych! Best detective duo evs!

  3. 3 jobonga April 6, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I love Psych! I too have had dreams about Sean. And me. Sean and me together. I’ve noticed that ever since the High Top Fade Out episode, Gus has been sneaking in these long, drawn-out and musical “Whaaaat?” phrases. Even when it doesn’t really make sense. When I catch those, I laugh and shake my head as if I am Gus’s special friend.

    PS – I demand a return of the nerdgirls podcast!

  4. 4 ngtjill April 6, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Yay! I’m glad you all love Psych too! I am honestly obsessed with it – hence the blog post. Joanna, I hadn’t noticed that about Gus, but I will watch for it now!

    I am so excited about the Psych-outs! But from what I can tell, they aren’t on the dvds? Unless I just didn’t see them on the season 4 dvds, which is the only season I have so far. I cannot WAIT until season 5 comes out. I want to watch it NOW!!

  5. 5 Amber April 7, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Jobonga-your demands for a podcast are heard and we will see if can pull ourselves away from iCarly for a minute to make your dreams come true–any suggestions for what we should discuss/obsess about? oooh maybe the Royal Wedding! I totally bow down to Kate Middleton as my princess.

    also, I sadly have no Psych comment bc I have unfortunately never seen Psych 😦 –I have been saying “PSYCH!” in my head alot lately tho…


Leave a Reply

