Family Traditions – ice cream

Ice cream is a big deal in my family.  We don’t mess around.  It’s even more important on April 4th, which was my grandpa’s birthday.  He passed away 6 years ago yesterday, the day before he turned 92.  Since then my family has the tradition of getting milkshakes (which he loved) or eating ice cream in his memory.

So if you want to be an honorary member of my family, eat some ice cream today in honor of my grandpa!

Mmm delicious

If you need even more reason to eat ice cream, yesterday was also the 119th anniversary of the first documented ice cream sundae!

And if you’d like a recommendation, I suggest your traditional soft-serve from Dairy Queen, which is what I think I’ll be doing, OR my all-time favorite ice cream flavor Mackinac Island Fudge ice cream.  I first had it up in Michigan.  The day I discovered that Meijer sold that flavor was definitely a very good day.  Seriously, “Mackinac Island fudge swirled with chocolate syrup in vanilla flavored ice cream”?  Yes, please!  I always keep at least 2 containers in my freezer.

What’s your favorite kind of ice cream?

– Jill

3 Responses to “Family Traditions – ice cream”


  1. 1 Amber April 4, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Yay! I am sooo glad you wrote this post, bc I just saw your facebook photo and was all like “NEED MORE INFORMATION!”

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    I’m totally going to go and eat some ice cream RIGHT now. Some Aericone Dream.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 4, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Yea! Your family traditions are 2 for 2 at being awesome!

    If I had to pick my favorite ice cream flavor of all time, I would have to pick Mint Chip. It’s refreshing, chocolatey and green. What more could you want?


Leave a Reply

