WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME THIS?

I’m watching VH1’s 40 One-Hit Wonders of the 90s and reliving my childhood right now.  But do you know what I did not know about my childhood?

This:

Marky Mark is… Mark Wahlberg???

Also, he was originally a part of New Kids on the Block?? Or at least that is what his Wikipedia page would have me believe. Guys, I am BLOWN AWAY.

I blame my parents for my not knowing more about Marky Mark. I wasn’t allowed to watch MTV when I was growing up. My parents were afraid I would catch a glimpse of Beavis and Butthead and start acting like them. I also wasn’t allowed to watch The Simpsons either, so I missed out on a lot of crucial elementary through high school (no joke) conversation points. Of course by the time I left for college my parents decided that they would let my sisters watch MTV and that was when music videos were passed over for reality shows such as My Super Sweet 16 and Laguna Beach. So I guess I don’t begrudge them too much. Oh how I loathed Laguna Beach.

But anyways, back to the 90s and my childhood. Oh my gosh guys! Chumbawamba just came on with Tubthumping! Oh man, I looooooooove this song! Do you remember when it was the theme song for ABC’s One Saturday Morning? What has happened to Saturday morning cartoons?

Hm. I just tried searching for the One Saturday Morning theme song and I can’t find one that sounds like Tubthumping so maybe I just made that up in my head. But it doesn’t matter. This isn’t a post that makes logical sense, this is a post that’s going to go off on tangents.

So back to the cartoon situation. I used to LIVE for Saturday morning. It was the one day that I didn’t actually whine about getting up. My favorites? It’s hard to name my number one, but if you pressed a gun to my head I’d probably say Pepper Ann. That was such a great show! Pepper Ann was all about the geeky girl and her triumphs. But unlike most of the other geeky girl shows, Pepper Ann was ACTUALLY a geek. Remember how Lizzie McGuire was supposed to be a geek but was actually super cute? Pepper Ann had the glasses, the weird haircut, was tall and gangly, and had a weird voice. Plus she was endearingly young – as in she was probably one of the more immature characters who was sometimes freaked out about growing up.

One of the best episodes I remember – Pepper Ann is in gym class and the teacher informs everyone that they’re going to need to get a support for next week’s class. So Pepper Ann goes home and asks her mom and they go bra shopping for Pepper Ann’s first bra. Then the next week in gym class, Pepper Ann gets up on a trampoline and the gym teacher is all “Where’s your support” and Pepper Ann smiles and says, “Right here” with her chest puffed proudly out. And the gym teacher is all “I don’t see it,” and Pepper Ann gestures to herself, “Right here.” And the gym teacher is all “I don’t see any support”, so Pepper Ann flashes everybody (I think it’s an all girls gym class and we don’t actually SEE her chest, I think we just see her from the back and the gym teacher’s shocked face) and then we find out that by support the gym teacher meant a spotter.

Another great show I remember fondly is Fillmore! It was like watching Law and Order in cartoon form, for middle schoolers. Instead of the police, you had the safety patrol. It was AWESOME. The main duo was Cornelius Fillmore (he was a delinquent who got caught and got the choice of either joining the safety patrol and helping them or having detention for the rest of middle school) and Ingrid Third (a new student who joins the Safety Patrol and is kind of a goth girl. Well, not really, but she does have the dark black hair, white white skin, and dresses in a black dress with black boots…). Fillmore and Third were an epic “crime” fighting duo and I greatly miss them.

Oh childhood how I miss you. What do you guys miss from your childhood?

*On a note, I should probably mention that Pepper Ann was on in 1997, when I was 12, so it was totally OK that I was watching cartoons. Fillmore! I noticed did not come on until 2002… when I was 17. But again, this is my parents’ fault. For not being allowed to watch The Simpsons like a normal child/teen, I just stayed in my childhood way into …well, now. It’s a wonder I made it out of college and got a job. Ha! Just kidding. It’s totally OK for me to still like this stuff. Actually, I really wish they’d put Doug back on the air. That was the best show ever.

<3s you guys,

Lindsay

P.S. It is 10:30ish, 70ish degrees outside, and I am sweating in my apartment while wearing shorts and a tank top. I’m so happy I’m moving to a properly air conditioned place in a few weeks.

P.P.S. I love how this started out as a Marky Mark post.

6 Responses to “WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME THIS?”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 4, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I love the fact that you never knew Marky Mark=Mark Wahlberg. Heehee.

    Is it sad that I don’t even remember what Saturday cartoons I watched. The only things I remember are Muppet Babies and Jem.

  2. 2 ngtjill April 4, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Oh man, ever since I watched The Fighter, I kind of love Mark Wahlberg. Hmm, I think I might do a post on him. Wait for it…

  3. 3 Amber April 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    LOVE! I like to imagine that everytime you heard a reference to Mark W. and pants-dropping, you thought “I don’t get it, but I support it.”

    On the subject of the Simpsons, I never realized how many people were not allowed to watch that show–Kelly and I were just talking not that long ago about how she wasn’t allowed to watch it whereas we watched it as a family! I even remember that during No-tv-watching week at school, when we got prizes for not watching TV each day, my mom told me that The Simpsons didn’t count and she would still sign my form even if I watched it (I was very conflicted about it and was probably spazzing)

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 4, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    I don’t think I ever even HEARD any Marky Mark references to Mark Wahlberg. That’s why I felt so BLINDSIDED!
    And I LOVE that your mom made you watch The Simpsons during the no-tv-watching week! I can’t even remember having a no-tv-watching week in elementary school! And you WOULD spazz out over something like that. At least, little Amber would have. HA!

  5. 5 ngtjennifer April 4, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    I couldn’t watch the Simpsons either. At least not until I was in high school, and then only with my dad, NEVER when my mom was around.


  1. 1 WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME THIS? « NerdGirlBlogging :: FreakyGeeky.com Trackback on April 4, 2011 at 8:11 am

Leave a Reply

