Nerdgirl vs. Popular Girl: A Review of You Again

First thing: Kristin Bell is AMAZING. but we all already knew this.

Brief synopsis: A successful Nerdgirl flies home for her brother’s wedding and discovers the girl he is marrying is the popular girl who tortured her in high school. And just to make things more chaotic and fun, the popular girl’s favorite aunt was also mistreated in high school by the nerdgirl’s mom!

Why it made me gleeful:

1. Kristin Bell plays such a believable nerdgirl! None of this She’s All That action where a girl takes off her glasses and she’s hot (LOVE THAT MOVIE tho). Kristin actually lets herself look like some of us girls do sometimes–awkward hair, awkward skin, awkward voice, but she is still totally smart and lovely!


2. This movie is all about relationship between GIRLS. None of the popular girls at my high school were anything like Odette Yustman’s uber mean popular girl character (at least not that I know of), but several are that ridiculously beautiful–beautiful like you want to ask “um, how come your face looks photoshopped in person? NOOO, is that really your skin?! Can I touch it?” So I like movies that feature interactions (good and bad) between Nerdgirls and Popular Girls. We are all GIRLS! I have to remind myself of this when I get on facebook to verify whether a girl from my class is truly dating a famous football player and discover that she looks PERFECT in every picture I see of her. Actually she looks like a petite Odette Yustman. This ruins my theory that starlets only look so flawless because they have expensive clothes, expensive stylists, expensive makeup, expensive food, etc. Eh, oh well. I like looking like a nerdgirl most of the time!


3. Kristin Chenoweth is the wedding planner.


4. Even though this is a movie about GIRLS, there is a little romantical times 🙂 And the boy who likes the Nerdgirl liked her even at her NERDIEST! Hmmm I smell a whif of Michael Moscovitz.

Sidenote: sometimes I wonder if Popular Girls are like “Hey, I am a Nerdgirl, too! stop putting me in a separate category!”

-Amber

3 Responses to “Nerdgirl vs. Popular Girl: A Review of You Again”


  1. 1 ngtjill April 3, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    I’m so glad you reviewed this – it sounds awesome, and I probably wouldn’t have watched it otherwise. Just added it to my Netflix queue!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 3, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Oooooh, we have this at my library! *places hold*

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 3, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Netflix! I totes magoats forgot about this movie! *Heads over to Netflix*
    OMG, WHEN is the Veronica Mars movie going to be made??


Leave a Reply

