Educating Teens

Sometimes when I’m working with teens, I feel the need to educate them on old-school music.  I’ve already told you my Bewitched story.  One time I did a music program and we listened to the songs that were #1 when they were born.  Geez, talk about feeling old — one girl’s song was “No Diggity” by Blackstreet.  Another one was “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion.  That was when one girl said she just saw Titanic.  And then I told them about how I saw Titanic in the theater because I still REMEMBER 1997.

Yesterday at my crafts class, we were listening to music.  I had my iPod and asked the girl what kind of music she liked.  We went through the Taylor Swift and Miley songs I had and then I started going through my list to see what else she might like.  She doesn’t like current Britney, but I asked if she’d heard Britney’s older music like Oops I Did It Again.  And she just looked at me.  So then we switched to a local radio station, and “Tearin’ Up My Heart” came on.  I got kind of excited because when was the last time you heard “Tearin’ Up My Heart” on the radio???  And I think by now you probably all know how much I love 90s music.  The teen had never heard of NSYNC…which really I can’t blame her because she was probably like 2 in 1998, but when I explained to her that it was Justin Timberlake’s group like 10 years ago, I just felt so OLD.

This is for you guys for being about the same age as me…

Well, I was going to embed the “Tearin’ Up My Heart” music video, but the only one I found wouldn’t let me embed. 😦  So instead, here’s the video for my favorite NSYNC song, which when I found it realized I DON’T THINK I’VE EVER SEEN IT!  Not too surprising I guess since we didn’t have cable or the Internet back in 1998, but still.  Enjoy!

Oh baby Justin.

– Jill

5 Responses to “Educating Teens”


  1. 1 Abby April 3, 2011 at 8:57 am

    OMG I have a teen who comes in to the library every week and he’s always telling me how much he likes Backstreet Boys. 😀

  2. 2 Amber April 3, 2011 at 9:44 am

    My cousins just watched Titanic and they are obsessed with it! Nice to know it is becoming a classic 🙂

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 3, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    That is totally the European video for that song! I was a really huge ‘NSYNC fan back in the day, so I will admit to buying a VHS tape off the internet that had all their European videos on it. I might even still have it somewhere….

    I love hearing you talk about how old you are, Jill since I am way older than you 🙂

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 3, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Oh the 90s. That was a great time to grow up. Great music, great tv, great hair and clothes…. Ha!

  5. 5 Amber April 4, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    I think I have the same VHS, Jen! NSYNC ‘n the Mix! Jill, do you have a VHS player???? I can bring it this weekend!


Leave a Reply

