I See the Light!!

Back in the fall, I went to a lot of trouble to “winter-proof” my apartment.  I live in a super old building (the oldest in town according to the apartment ad…..and why anyone would think that is a good thing to put in an ad I will never know) that gets really cold in the winter and is very, very, very, very expensive to heat.  So I did everything in my power to prevent the cold air from getting in.

*Shades down–Check!

*Towels as insulation in window–Check!

*Bubble wrap as insulation against window–Check!

*Plastic covering windows–Check!

*Plastic bags shoved down into window that won’t close all the way–Check!

Let me tell you, that was a nightmare to put all of that stuff up!  It was also incredibly depressing because that meant that all winter long I had only one view of the outside world.

Look at that sad little square 😦

I decided that I had to allow myself at least a small area to see outside so that I would know if I needed extra time to clean off my car.

Well, last night was the night when it all came down.  I realized several things about my elaborate plans.  Half the towels had fallen down.  The cats had ripped holes in at least three of the plastic coverings.  Oh, and sometimes bubble wrap being pressed up against moist windows for months causes things to mold.  That was really fun last night cleaning all of that stuff up.

But now…….but now I can see out my windows!!!  It is glorious!!!  I didn’t realize just how depressing my apartment had become with no natural light and no views of outside.  It is so beautiful in here now!  The cats spent all day today lying in the sunbeams on the floor.  It has actually been a relatively mellow day here at the apartment cat-wise.  Hopefully this is a sign of things to come!

Look how sunny it is!!!

Jen

P.S.  Sorry about the silly title, but I totally have Tangled on the brain.  Last night when I was out emergency supply shopping (bleach!!) I bought a copy of the DVD since mine still hasn’t arrived from Amazon and I was pretty sure I would feel the need to watch it again this weekend.  Luckily I managed to find a home for my other copy when it arrives.  My dad is going to take it off my hands for me 🙂

P.P.S.  And yes, fellow nerdgirls, if I watch it this weekend I will be more than willing to see it again with you next weekend.  You’re talking to the girl who saw it four times (maybe five?) in the theater.

P.P.P.S.  I feel like such a grownup ever since I bought my banana stand.  Although just saying that makes me wish it was a Bluth banana stand.

4 Responses to “I See the Light!!”


  1. 1 Abby April 2, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    There’s money in the banana stand!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 2, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    That show is the best.

    But I hear you so loud on apartment’s being cold! I thought I was going to die this winter! I would wake up and see my breath and think to myself – I have to shower now??

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 2, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Oh, and also it got really nice out the other weekend (it was in the 80s), so I pulled all the plastic down off our windows and then the temperature plummeted back down to the 30s and 40s. It was awesome. Or do I mean awful? Yeah, I mean awful.

  4. 4 ngtjill April 3, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Hooray I can’t wait to watch Tangled with you guys!

    P.S. I would probably buy a banana stand BECAUSE it reminded me of Arrested Development. haha


Leave a Reply

