Family Traditions – crafting

When I needed BEDA ideas, Jen suggested my family traditions because we seem to have so many. Since I had a craft program today at work, today seems very fitting to talk about my family’s craftiness.

My dad’s side of the family are big crafters.  I remember my grandma working on quilts a lot with the big table thing set up in the middle of one of their rooms.  I’d love to learn how to quilt! My aunts are just as crafty and have taught me how to knit and cross-stitch. When my mom retired from teaching, I had just learned how to cross-stitch and my aunt encouraged me to make this:

Then I decided to tackle another project for myself and finished (after like 2 years of off and on work) with this:

We’ve now started to move into paper crafts.  Several of my aunts, cousins, my older sister and I make greeting cards, and I learned how to quill.

Some of us still do more traditional crafts though.  One of my aunts makes quilts out of jeans.  Whenever we trade names for Christmas, everyone hopes she’ll get their name.  Keep your fingers crossed for me – I totally want one.  🙂  One of my uncles does a lot of woodworking, and this year for Christmas I got an awesome wooden calendar that he made and my aunt painted.

My family is so talented.  Basically name a craft, and someone in my family probably does it.  🙂

Stay tuned for more family traditions!

– Jill

5 Responses to “Family Traditions – crafting”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 2, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Oh my gosh Jill!!!! You are amazing!!! That cross stitch of Victorian houses is incredible! My mom is all crafty too, but I think the gene died with me and my sister. Yea for Jill’s family traditions!!!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 2, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    Dude, more craft talk please! I wish I were HALF as crafty as you! And that calendar? So cute!!

  3. 3 ngtjill April 3, 2011 at 11:40 am

    Thanks, guys! I’m really proud of my Victorian houses picture. I want to do another big cross-stitching picture, but I haven’t found a design I like enough yet.

    And Lindsay, I have a few more craft posts in mind. 🙂

  4. 4 Amy May 20, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Where did you find the school house cross stitch pattern? I love it!

  5. 5 ngtjill August 21, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Thanks, Amy! I believe the pattern was in an old cross stitch magazine that my aunt had. I’m sorry I can’t remember the name of the magazine, but the pattern was on the cover.


Leave a Reply

