Phineas and Ferb Friday~~Clip Shows

Tonight there is a new episode of Phineas and Ferb on the Disney Channel!  Yippee!!  It is called “Phineas’ Birthday Clip-o-Rama.”  So, in other words, it’s a clip show.

Some people really hate clip shows.  They see it as a way to repackage old stuff and try to pass it off as a new episode.  I tend to be a glass-is-half-full type of gal when it comes to clip shows.  I like to think of it as a way to revisit some of my favorite moments from a show all at once without having to juggle a million dvds.

So in honor of Phineas’ Birthday Clip Show, here a few of my favorite clip shows off the top of my head.

*SNL Best of Clip Shows–I am not a big fan of watching entire episodes of Saturday Night Live.  First of all, because live television scares me and makes me too nervous to watch (I’m so scared they will mess up!).  Also, because the sketches are usually so hit and miss.  But when I sit down and watch a “Best of…” clip show and I am always guaranteed genuine laughs.  My favorites would have to be Will Ferrell, Chris Farley, and Jimmy Fallon (cuz he’s so pretty).

*The Carol Burnett Show–They used to show these on tv every once in a while, and I would watch them and roll on the floor with laughter.  I have never watched an actual episode of The Carol Burnett Show, but the clip shows combining all the best stuff are amazing!  Carol Burnett as Scarlett O’Hara!  Tim Conway making Harvey Korman laugh!  The original Mama’s Family!  All priceless.

*Friends: The One With the Invitation–This is the clip show that aired right before Ross and Emily’s wedding.  It shows every great Ross and Rachel moment from the first four seasons of the show.  For Ross and Rachel fans, this is the perfect way to see their whole relationship play out over twenty-some minutes.

*Seinfeld: The Chronicle–The clip show that aired right before the last episode of Seinfeld is the best clip show I have ever seen.  I LOVE the fact that they still show it in syndication, so I get to catch it every once in a while.  This hour-long episode has the perfect mixture of clips, musical montages, and bloopers.  Seinfeld is not my favorite show, actually it doesn’t even crack the top ten, but I could watch this episode over and over.  The ending montage set to “Good Riddance” by Green Day makes me a little teary each time I see it.  I think it is that picture of Julia Louis-Dreyfus at 0:51 looking so distraught that gets me.

So, are you a fan of clip shows, or do you roll your eyes in disgust when your favorite show tries to pull a fast one on you?

Jen

P.S.  I refuse to acknowledge that it is April Fool’s Day, since as a very gullible person, it is my least favorite day of the year.

6 Responses to “Phineas and Ferb Friday~~Clip Shows”


  1. 1 Amber April 1, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I tend to like clip shows if I am watching reruns, but not so much during the original airing of a season. Hmmm, maybe not even as reruns…Yeah, I think really only like them if they are clip shows to begin with, like SNL or Monty Python, etc…

    but you are right, I totally love the Seinfeld clip show–but that was so fitting for a pre-finale for that show–so many great moments and one-liners!

    I think what usually causes clip-shows to fail for me is when they try to incorporate a storyline because I hate listening to the characters annoying explain how they remember stuff every few minutes, and the plot is usually soooo thin. That is another reason why the Seinfeld clip show is brilliant–it doesn’t need to explain itself!

  2. 2 ngtjill April 1, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    Ditto Amber. I usually hate clip shows. It feels like such a cop-out. BUT I also love the Seinfeld one. It’s really well-done, and I love the way they re-package the clips into organized segments. SNL ones are more good ones. I actually own the Best of Jimmy Fallon one. 🙂

    And I’ve never really seen the Carol Burnett Show but based on that clip, I’m definitely going to watch it! Thanks for sharing!

    Oh and I wrote my post yesterday before I read this, but it’s funny that we have the same reaction to April Fool’s Day. 🙂

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 2, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Amber you are completely right about how phony the “plots” are during clip shows. I can’t think of a single show that has done a really good job of making a story work with a bunch of clips.

    And Jill, I am also glad to know that I’m not the only one who greets this day with trepidation. One of my very good friends announced she is pregnant today and I am like…..”congratulations? Maybe??”

  4. 4 ngtjill April 2, 2011 at 10:21 am

    UGH I HATE when people “announce” things on April Fool’s Day. Hopefully by now you know whether your friend is pregnant or just saying so. One of my friends said on facebook that she is in Vegas and got married. Honestly, when people announce stuff on April 1, it kind of makes me care less to know the truth.

  5. 5 ngtjennifer April 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I did find out and apparently she really is pregnant!! I had an inkling that it was the real thing 🙂

  6. 6 ngtlindsay April 2, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I don’t believe ANYTHING someone tells me on April Fools Day anymore.


Leave a Reply

