Documentary Monday Update!

I am thrilled to pieces that all of you are so excited about my documentary post!  And by all I mean my fellow nerdgirls and our two loyal readers (shout out to Abby and Diana!).  I am definitely going to watch all of the films that you recommended, but I will also try to pick out some different ones that might be new to you.  Hopefully I will be able to introduce you to some you haven’t heard of before (although that might be difficult, since you all seem to be very well versed in the world of documentaries).

I went to the big city library yesterday and checked out 15 documentaries!  I probably won’t be able to watch them all in the 3 week time limit, but I started browsing the shelves and I couldn’t control myself.  I am going to try to get a large number of blog posts done in advance, especially for the Mondays this summer, since I can barely function during the 6 weeks that summer reading is going on at my library.

I have decided to play pretty fast and loose with the definition of “documentary.”  Anything that I find on the DVD NonFiction shelves will fall into that category.  So there will be “real” documentaries as well as television special from PBS and the History Channel and stuff like that.  I’m hoping that if I can find it on DVD, then anybody else should be able to get it from a library or from Netflix.

I am really excited about watching my huge pile of DVDs!  I am also pumped for BEDA, because I already have lots of great ideas in the works.

Jen

4 Responses to “Documentary Monday Update!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay March 24, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    YAY! I look forward to learning tons of stuff from you. Also, BEDA! Yay! I’m going to have to figure out how to do that delayed posting thingy so that I can have lazy days without worrying about posting 🙂

  2. 3 Diana March 24, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Jen, almost forgot to mention the documentary Catfish. While I haven’t seen it yet, I’ve read about it, and it sounds pretty interesting. Some people question its authenticity, but I think that just adds to its fascinating factor.

  3. 4 ngtjennifer March 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Oooooh, I knew Catfish was a big deal, but I didn’t realize it was a documentary. I will have to check that out.

    And Lindsay, when you do a post, look in the publish box on the right side of the screen. There is a little place that says ‘publish immediately.’ Hit the edit button next to that and then you can set your post to go public on a certain day.


Leave a Reply

