Oscar Movie Marathon: Year 2!

I participated in AMC’s 24-Hour Best Picture Movie Marathon again this year!  If you remember from last year, AMC shows all 10 movies nominated for Best Picture.  You can split them between 2 Saturdays or at select theaters, watch them ALL in 1 DAY (24 hours).  Well, my family and I are hardcore, so for the second year in a row, we’ve done all 10 movies in 24 hours.  This year’s movies are all-around WAY better than last year!  Here are my thoughts on what I saw…

Toy Story 3

Cute, funny, with at least one major dark moment.  If you’ve seen this already, you know what I’m talking about!  I enjoy the Toy Story movies, but I never thought this had any chance of winning anything other than Best Animated Film.  Maybe I should also say that this was my 3rd time seeing it already, so maybe that’s why I wasn’t super jazzed about it.

127 Hours

This one is one of my least favorites of the day – but it was still really good!  I just had major issues at the end with…you know.  Seriously, I’m generally ok with gore and stuff, but wow, there was one quick scene that nearly pushed me over the edge.  I had cold sweats and muted hearing and had to ignore the movie for awhile to make it through. It’s probably best this movie was early on.

The Kids Are All Right

Good.  The acting is really great in this one.  I’d almost say it’s your average modern movie – you know, set in contemporary times, realistic, etc. – except this one is better than most.

True Grit

This movie was AWESOME!  And I’m not a particular fan of westerns, Jeff Bridges, or the Coen brothers, if that helps you.  It surprised me that I liked it so much.  Everyone was great in it – especially Hailee Steinfeld!  I SO wanted her to win for Best Supporting Actress.  I just watched the older version with John Wayne, and it was pretty good too, but I think this was is better.  This movie has it all – adventure, humor, drama, and heart.  I highly recommend it.

The Fighter

OMG, this movie was AWESOME too!  And I’m REALLY not a fan of sports movies, so I was really surprised that I liked it so much.  I think I’d even say this is my favorite of the whole day!  The acting is incredible too.  I wish Mark Wahlberg had gotten nominated.  He doesn’t stand out compared to the others in terms of their characters, but he was fantastic too.  During the credits, there’s a little part with the real Dicky Eklund and Micky Ward, and it’s easy to see just how good Christian Bale was at becoming Dicky.  This film was just a great drama about family, do what YOU want, underdog movie.  I’ve concluded I love underdog movies and must watch more.  Suggestions?

Winter’s Bone

Ok, this was my least favorite of the day, but that does not mean it was a bad movie.  It was actually still good; it’s just not my kind of movie.  I got the characters confused and wasn’t exactly sure what was going on all the time.  BUT Jennifer Lawrence was phenomenal.  If Hailee Steinfeld couldn’t win, I wanted Jennifer Lawrence to.  And did you SEE her at the Oscars?  We all did double-takes here.  At this point I support either Hailee Steinfeld or Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss.  Both are pretty bad-ass.

Black Swan

You guys, this movie is Crazy with a capital C.  This was the 2nd time I saw it and it didn’t get any less Crazy.  Natalie Portman was incredible and totally deserved the win.  (Apologies to everyone else nominated.  You didn’t stand a chance.)  If you haven’t seen it, I’ll give you a general announcement that it dabs in the horror genre at times with several “jump” moments.  I kind of forgot how many there are until I was watching it again and kept thinking “Oh yeah, there’s that part coming up…”  The cinematography is cool and the special effects and art direction were great.

Inception

Christopher Nolan is kind of a genius for coming up with this story.  It’s Crazy too, but in a more awesome way than Black Swan Crazy.  The special effects totally deserved to win.  The best scene is clearly Joseph Gordon-Levitt in a suit battling a bad guy while the hallway rotates.  I have had a crush on JGL since the 3rd Rock from the Sun & 10 Things I Hate About You days.  I’m so glad he’s gotten so much respect and great films as he’s gotten older.

By the way, at one point during this movie when JGL and Leonardo DiCaprio were on screen, I couldn’t help but remember tv shows from the 90s.  Does anyone else remember when Leo was on Growing Pains?

The Social Network

I made myself wait to see this when it came out because I knew it would be nominated.  Aaron Sorkin is awesome, so I knew it would be good, but honestly it wasn’t as good as I expected.  Maybe I’d hyped it too much or something, or the backstabbing was too awful and ruined it.  When we watched the Oscars and Justin Timberlake came on, I couldn’t help but think JT, you’re a bad dude!  This movie was a little like finding out that some of the actors of your favorite tv show actually HATED each other off-screen.  (Which is an exact feeling I have had before.)  I’m intrigued to know how much is real though since the movie is based on a book which, as far as I know, didn’t get much input from Mark Zuckerberg’s side.

The King’s Speech

I don’t really like that the Golden Globes are before the Oscars because after seeing how well this movie did at the Golden Globes, it was almost like this had already won Best Picture.  Don’t get me wrong, this was my 3rd fave of the day, and I will be watching it again as soon as it comes out – particularly since I kept nodding off for at least the first 30 minutes (seriously, who puts a slower movie at the end of the 24 hour time???).  And of course the acting was incredible – really, what movie can go WRONG with Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush, and Helena Bonham Carter?  The characters are so wonderful.  Talking about it makes me want to watch it again right now.  So good.

Have you guys seen any of these?  Which do you like??

– Jill

9 Responses to “Oscar Movie Marathon: Year 2!”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer March 13, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Jill, I am so impressed with you and your hardcore family!!! I’ve only seen three of the movies (King’s Speech, Kids Are All Right, and Toy Story 3). I loved the first two and thought Toy Story 3 was okay.

    I’m so glad to know what you thought about all the movies because I don’t think I would have ever watched The Fighter, but now I might get it from the library. I can’t wait to see 127 Hours since I’ve already read the book, but I think I will have to fast forward through the “big scene.”

    Also, did you hear that Jennifer Lawrence is totally Katniss?? It gives me high hopes for the movie.

  2. 2 Diana March 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I’ve seen 9 out of the 10 movies that were nominated this year. I haven’t seen Winter’s Bone. Enjoyed most of the movies, but my favorites were probably The King’s Speech, The Social Network, Toy Story 3, The Fighter, and True Grit. I actually didn’t think “the scene” in 127 Hours was too bad. I wasn’t sure until I saw it how I’d react, but I actually sat through it with my eyes opened and wasn’t too grossed out or horrified. I may even have been munching almonds during that scene. I thought Natalie Portman gave a great performance, but that movie wasn’t one of my favorites. That hangnail scene was pretty gross.

  3. 3 Diana March 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    This video contains spoilers for the movie Black Swan, so watch only if you’ve already seen the movie or if you don’t mind spoilers.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/12/sassy-gay-friend-black-swan_n_834897.html

  4. 4 Amber March 16, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    I was waiting for this post! ::bows down:: You are a movie-watching Goddess.

    I was also totally going to skip the Fighter, and probably still will skip it because I still have only seen the first season of Buffy and that should come first, right? But now I will whole-heartedly recommend it to others 🙂

    Also: Jennifer Lawrence is Katniss?? for real?? she is too old!!! NO, I am not cool with that. In fact, that really really bums me out.

  5. 5 ngtjennifer March 17, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Well, I am kind of okay with the Katniss thing as long as they only make the first movie. If they try to make all three she will be way too old. I think Hunger Games will translate great into a film, but I just don’t know about the other two, so if they just focus on the first one and make it phenomenal, I think she will do a good job.

    But you’re right, she is old.

  6. 6 ngtjill March 19, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    @Diana — That link is awesome. I love sassy gay friend!

    @Amber — I am definitely fine with you passing on The Fighter to watch Buffy. Oh Buffy, maybe I should start a re-watch myself.

    @Amber & Jen — I didn’t realize Jennifer Lawrence was 20. I think they can probably make her look younger. Hopefully they will. And I agree about only making the first one. Do it right, or don’t do it at all!


  1. 1 Family Traditions – Oscar Movie Marathon « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on April 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm
  2. 2 Great Gatsby Chapters 6 & 7: The post in which Amber talks too much about Kate Moss « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on March 2, 2012 at 10:03 pm
  3. 3 Oscar Movie Marathon: Year 3* « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on March 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

