Just Me and My Tattoos!

It might come as a shock to most people who know me on a casual basis, but I got my first tattoo when I was just a young thing of 18.  It is actually a very cool story, so you all are going to have to bear with me, because I love to tell it…

All throughout high school I had been talking about how I really wanted to get a tattoo when I turned 18.  It was honestly a whole lot of talk (you remember what it was like to be in high school), but then my 18th birthday rolled around and my friends presented me with a card filled with money that said, “now you can get a tattoo!”  Well, we picked a date and all 9 of us went to the tattoo place together.  My friend Annette designed my falling star tattoo and they all sat in the lobby while I got it done.  Funny story, my sister had to leave as soon as it started because the noise was making her feel sick.  She now currently has 3 tattoos of her own 🙂

It was a fantastic experience to have all my friends there and to have the event be so much bigger than just me.  Whenever I  catch a glimpse of it in the mirror I always smile and think about my wonderful friends.

Here is a pic of us a few days later on New Year’s Eve.  Everyone who was there is in the picture except my sister.

From bottom left: Allison, Tiffany, Val, Molly, Meg, Annette, and Liz....and I seem to have the same haircut 11 years later.

So, as soon as I got my first one, I decided that I MUST get another one!  My friends advised me to wait one year between tattoos or else I might get addicted.  Well, I waited 11 years before finally getting my next one.  I think one of the reasons is because my first one was so special that I didn’t know how to live up to it.

Recently, I found this t-shirt on Etsy by Evietees and fell in love with the design.  I emailed her and asked if I could use the picture to get a tattoo and she was really cool about it.  It’s Harry Potter related, and if you don’t get the reference, then you should go re-read the last few chapters of Deathly Hallows.

I really wanted to get it behind my ear because my sis (who is now a tattoo expert) said that she barely felt it when she got hers there.  The first tattoo place that I went to said that they could never get the design to fit behind my ear and I almost gave up.  I emailed another place and they said, “oh sure, we can totally do that.”

I went there on Wednesday to put down a deposit and make an appointment and they said if I wanted they could do it right then!  It all happened very fast and I am still trying to process the fact that it’s really there.

I’m not sure if I am totally in love with the shading on it.  I kind of thought it would all be one solid color instead of having the “chrome effect.”  He mentioned that and apparently I had no idea what it meant.  I think I will be fine once I get used to it.  If not, I can always go have it filled in somewhere.  The most important thing is that I didn’t compromise on where I wanted to get it, and you can read the word!!!

So far things are going great.  I thought taking a shower would be agony, but I couldn’t feel a thing.  The only time it has even twinged over the last 48 hours was when my coat rubbed up against it on the way home from getting it and I was like, “owwww!  poky!!!”  So if you want to get a tattoo, I throw in my vote for behind the ear.

Jen

P.S.  On my way home, I almost hit 2 large groups of deer.  The first group of 5 ran in front of me and I just missed clipping the last one.  Then another group of 4 almost crossed the road but I laid on the horn and they ran back into the ditch.  So now that I have a doe tattooed on me, does that make me some kind of deer magnet?  I am not gonna be driving after dark anytime soon.

 

4 Responses to “Just Me and My Tattoos!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay March 12, 2011 at 12:52 am

    I will never get a tattoo – the thought of a tattoo needle thingy getting near me just makes me feel all barfy and edgy like I want to slap anybody near me who’s holding something pointy. But I am so in awe of you Jen! I can’t wait to see it!

  2. 2 Abby March 12, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Awww, I love your tattoo stories!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer March 12, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Lindsay, it is not as scary as you might think. But I completely understand your aversion to all things needle-y.

    Abby, I think you should totally get one so you can have your own story!!

  4. 4 Amber March 16, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    That is like the most adorable picture ever–TATTOOS FOREVER!


Leave a Reply

