Random thoughts I have had today

An uncomplete list of things that have gone on in my head today:

1. Why can’t babies stand up by themselves? Is it like a balance issue? Or are their leg muscles just not strong enough? Seems to me that it’s probably a muscle issue because staying upright is pretty darn easy.

2. Cookie time has been supposedly going on for a while and I have yet to see any girl scouts. Why is there not a cookie booth in every grocery store? I should drive out to the Kroger tonight and see if there are some girl scouts there. Also, why don’t they wear uniforms anymore? (When is the last time you saw a girl scout in her uniform?)

3. How did I dent my fingernail and not notice? You think you would notice whacking your finger hard enough to take a chunk out of it.

4. Tiny bubble wrap might possibly be the greatest invention of all time.

5. Knees look stupid. In fact, most joints look stupid and I feel like they could be better made.

6. *Picturing a shin splint* Thanks a lot, dance teacher. (Last night she explained exactly what a shin splint was. I will never forgive her for the imagery.)

7. When did this whole month thing come about? Like, how did they keep track of dates like 1,000 years ago? When did we start using calendars? 1,000 years ago, did someone say, hey meet me next Tuesday? Or did they say, hey meet me in 10 days? When did the concept of the day come about? Do you think maybe instead of day they said something like, sun periods?

8. Mushrooms are disgusting and should be allowed to be hunted into extinction.

9. Johnny Depp is most attractive looking to me when he is dressed as a pirate.

10. Sometimes Irish music and bluegrass music is indistinguishable to my ears. I think it’s because of the fiddle. Also, I like the banjo and the bagpipes, but probably not together.

11. How is that new SciFi show, the one where they go back in time to live with the dinosaurs (Terra Nova I think is it’s name?), going to address the oxygen level issue? I hope they don’t ignore it and let people think the levels back then are the same as they are today.

12. Disgusting and delicious don’t usually go together, but yogurt makes it work.

13. I love polka dots.

14. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen is a great book, but the cover is so so wrong for it.

15. You know the Jacuzzi suit that they had on The Simpson’s that one time? I want one.

16. I wish every day it was mandatory to stop and do some double dutch. Not only is double dutch awesome, but I’m really good at it.

<3, lindsay

9 Responses to “Random thoughts I have had today”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer March 1, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I completely agree with # 4 & 9.

    Also, I totally ordered cookies and still have yet to receive them. I don’t even know the name of the girl I ordered from, so I don’t know how to track her down!! I am getting really antsy!!!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay March 1, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    I don’t think the cookies have come in yet if you ordered them. But seriously, they, like, don’t go door to door anymore. What is the world coming to?? But the great thing is that they sometimes camp out at the grocery stores. I think I’ll go tonight to my Kroger and get some thin mints. I’ve been jonesing for a few months.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer March 1, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    I think I will head out to the grocery stores this week too. But I know there are at least 3 people here in town who have already had cookies delivered to them…..my friend Paula has already finished her boxes!!

  4. 4 ngtlindsay March 2, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I got 2 boxes of Tagalongs last night. They were out of thin mints and I almost rioted.

  5. 5 ngtjennifer March 2, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    Tagalongs are nothing to sneeze at though…

  6. 6 ngtlindsay March 2, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Update: I have now eaten 1/2 of a box. By myself. All today. Damn the combo of peanut butter and chocolate! So addictive!!

  7. 7 ngtjill March 3, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    The oxygen levels were different in the time of dinosaurs? NO ONE EVER TOLD ME! The Flintstones breathed fine. How was I to know???

    Tagalongs are totally better than Thin Mints. I really wish I knew a girl scout in my area.

  8. 8 ngtlindsay March 4, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Jill, yes they were different! I think they were lower, and that’s why things were so much bigger (spiders and bugs!), and that’s why you could never pay me to go back to that time! EVER! EWWWW!

  9. 9 Amber March 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Speaking of dinosaurs, we have yet to discuss the newsbomb that was dropped this summer (or at least I don’t think we have discussed him…I have been outtatheloop so maybe I just check the archives…nah too lazy…)

    Newsbomb:

    THERE IS NO SUCH DINOSAUR AS A TRICERATOPS!

    They are just baby Torosaurus!


Leave a Reply

