Hogwarts in the Library

There are many cool things that I love about my library.  One of the greatest things is a volunteer named Toni.  Every few months, she fills our humble display case at the library with the most unbelievable creations.  It is literally impossible to describe how amazing her displays are.  In the time that I have been there I have seen the case transformed into Beatrix Potter’s garden, a Mardi Gras/New Orleans celebration, a winter wonderland, a celebration of classic literature, and an underwater paradise.

Ever since I started there has been talk of doing a Harry Potter display.  It took us a while to get it together because Toni had never read the books or seen the movies, and I was worried that we couldn’t actually pull it off without it looking kitschy and commercialized.  Well, after many months of planning, the display is up now and I will admit that I never should have doubted her.  It is pitch-perfect.  We are really making it an event at the library by having a trivia contest and other programs going on while the display is up.  Of course, this means that everyone in town is finding out that the children’s librarian is a Harry Potter freak (as the local paper points out), but that’s okay with me 🙂

There is a lot of my stuff hidden somewhere in the display, which makes me very proud.  This is the first display that I can really say I had a lot of say in so I am very proud of it.  Here are some pictures of the display, which  totally don’t do it justice.

 

 

If you are a big fan of the series, you will see a LOT of familiar things in there.  We always do an “I Spy” to go with each of our displays and we are going to do two of them for Harry Potter.  One for regular people and little kids with things like “Find the 12 owls, find the bacon, etc…” and then another one for super fans with things like “Find the Monster Book of Monsters, find Padfoot, find the Felix Felicius…”

If you want to see all the pictures I took, you can go to my Flickr page.  You should definitely check out the other pics because then you can see the castle that we have at the entrance of the library.  The display has only been finished for a few days and we have already had a huge response.  So if you are in the Iowa City area, you should come by the Solon Library and check it out!!!

Jen

5 Responses to “Hogwarts in the Library”


  1. 1 Andrea January 16, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Awesome! Hope I get up to see it in person.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay January 16, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    *Is incredibly jealous* Seriously, Nashville Public Libraries have NOTHING on you guys. NOTHING.

  3. 3 Amber January 17, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    no. words. too awesome.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer January 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I’m so glad you guys like it! Toni had told me that it didn’t matter what anyone else said, if I liked it then she knew she had done a good job. So I’m glad that my fellow superfans also loved it.

  5. 5 ngtjill January 22, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    This is so so so cool! And awesome that you have so much stuff included in it!


Leave a Reply

