Jill’s Reading Roundup 2010

Instead of doing the regular roundup like last year, I’m going to steal a reading survey found at Persnickety Snark and YABOOKNERD.  Enjoy!  *Note: These are books I read in 2010, not necessarily published in 2010.

Best Book of 2010:  Tie between Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson and The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

 

 

 

 

 

Worst Book of 2010:  Wow, apparently I only stopped reading 1 book this year and only rated 1 book (out of 89) with 1 star (out of 5).  They are The Carbon Diaries: 2015 and Incarceron, respectively.  I know other people who do like these books though, so don’t let me discourage you from reading either one.

Most Surprising (in a good way!) Book of 2010:  Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.  Fabulous and has everything: realistic teens dealing with heavy life stuff, light-hearted moments, playlists, romance, and a road trip.  Also, Surviving Antarctica: Reality TV 2083 by Andrea White was a satisfying Hunger Games-readalike that held me over until Mockingjay came out.  A random online read-alike search led me to it and I was surprised by the similarity.

 

 

 

 

 

Most Disappointing Book of 2010:  The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  It was an ok book but did not live up to the cool cover or the hype I’d heard.

Most Recommended-to-Others Book of 2010: For teens- Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson.  I’ve booktalked this at every school I visit and to a lot of teens.  No one seems thrilled by it, which is a CRIME.  For adults- The Supremes’ Greatest Hits by Michael Trachtman. Such an incredibly fascinating book about how the Supreme Court decisions affect our daily lives.

 

 

 

 

 

Best Series You Discovered in 2010: Chaos Walking series (The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, Monsters of Men) by Patrick Ness HANDS DOWN.  With the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter coming in 2nd.

Favorite New Authors Discovered in 2010:  This year was the first time I read anything by Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.  What a huge mistake on my part for waiting so long.  I cannot get enough of either of them (but unfortunately I’ve basically reached a current end).

Most Hilarious Read of 2010:  I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to be Your Class President by Josh Lieb, former executive producer for The Daily Show, if that tells you anything.

 

 

 

 

 

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book of 2010:  The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, followed by Only the Good Spy Young (Gallagher Girls #4) by Ally Carter.  Sorry to repeat titles, but I have to.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Most Anticipated Book of 2010:  Mockingjay, duh

Favorite Cover of a Book You Read in 2010:  The Replacement by Breanna Yovanoff

 

 

 

 

Most Memorable Character in 2010: Toughy, but I think I have to choose the Gallagher Girls.  They’re not afraid to be smart and kick some butt.

Most Beautifully Written Book in 2010: Hmm, I’m bad at remembering what writing was like.  The Knife of Never Letting Go had a very unique writing style in terms of visuals.  I think As Easy As Falling off the Face of the Earth had great, lyrical writing.  The writing in the nonfiction books The War to End All Wars by Russell Freedman and The Good, the Bad, and the Barbie by Tanya Lee Stone helped me give both 5 stars.  Both are great as well.

 

 

 

 

 

Book That Had the Greatest Impact on You in 2010:  I think it’s a 3-way tie between The Knife of Never Letting Go, Speak, and The Supremes’ Greatest Hits.

Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2010 to Read: Speak.  I don’t know how I missed it for the 11 years.  #epicfail

In all the books I read, I read just over 25,000 pages, including some J Fiction, J Nonfiction, 1 (I think) adult fiction and a few adult non-fiction…but mostly YA.  🙂  Next year my goal is to get to 30,000 pages.  We’ll see…

Happy 2011!

– Jill

5 Responses to “Jill’s Reading Roundup 2010”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer January 3, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    This post makes me realize that I really need to read the Patrick Ness books, and maybe give the Gallagher girls another shot.

    Congrats on 25,000 pages!!! Can I ask how you keep track of that?

  2. 2 ngtlindsay January 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    OMG, I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL YOU FINISH MONSTERS OF MEN! SO GOOD!

  3. 3 Amber January 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Gee Golly, you gals read so much! I feel like I read two books last year (not true, but probably close…)

  4. 4 ngtjill January 22, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Jen, Gallagher Girls and Chaos Walking are both awesome series! And I keep track of my books/pages on a good ol’ Excel spreadsheet. I am truly living up to the nerdgirl label.

    • 5 ngtjennifer January 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

      Wow, a spreadsheet is a great idea! I just use LibraryThing and I don’t think there is an easy way to keep track of pages.


Leave a Reply

