Uh-Oh…There’s a New Jane Eyre!

In the past year, I have become a huge fan of everything Jane Eyre…some might even call it an obsession. I have watched at least three different versions of it (the newest BBC one at least a dozen times) and read the book. I also just recently read Jane by April Lindner, which is a modern day version of the story (great book by the way…the part of Mr. Rochester is played by a washed up rock star…loved it!). So, hearing that there is a new theatrical version coming out makes me very excited.

Most people will probably roll their eyes and grumble something like, “does there really need to be a 57th version of that story??” To those people I say, “YESSSS!” I feel that each new adaptation adds something different to the story and gives me a new way to enjoy it. I think that there could never be too many versions of Jane Eyre (just like there can never be too many adaptations of Jane Austen novels).

Here is the trailer for the new movie which comes out in March. (Sorry, I couldn’t figure out how to embed it here.)

http://www.traileraddict.com/emd/30183

Doesn’t it look awesome!!! I am super excited to see Dame Judi Dench as Mrs. Fairfax and Jamie Bell as St. John. And whoever that is playing Mr. Rochester….wow…he sure knows how to smolder!

I know that I will be marking my calendar to make sure to catch this in theaters….who’s with me?

Jen

4 Responses to “Uh-Oh…There’s a New Jane Eyre!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay November 10, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Ooooooooooooh! EXCITED!

  2. 2 jobonga November 11, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Ahh! I can’t wait! I want to watch it with you.

  3. 3 Diana November 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I’ve never read Jane Eyre (I know, I know), but am currently reading Jane by April Lindner for Meg Cabot’s book club over at her message board. I’m enjoying the book so far.

    http://forums.megcabot.com/index.php?showtopic=57907

    I’ve never seen any of the Jane Eyre movies either, but this new one looks good. The director, Cary Fukunaga, attended the same university as I, which is pretty cool. 🙂

  4. 4 ngtjennifer November 14, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I wish I could see it with all of you! That would be awesome if we could have special screenings of nerdgirl movies.

    And Diana, I had totally forgotten that Jane was Meg Cabot’s pick for her book club. I follow her on Twitter and remember thinking, “Oooh, I’ve read that!”


Leave a Reply

