Best Harry Potter Casting

In honor of HP & the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 coming out SOON(!), I submit to you my nominees for best Harry Potter casting ever!

Since it’s been almost 10 years since we’ve met the film versions of Harry, Hermione, Ron, etc., it’s kind of hard to remember my initial thoughts on most of the early cast members.  But there are 3 characters I think have been cast PERFECTLY.

Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange

I’ve always thought Helena Bonham Carter was a little bit creepy since I saw her in Fight Club, and here the creepiness is dead-on.  She also brings the right amount of crazy to Bellatrix.  I secretly love when she’s on-screen, even though I know she’s usually doing something terrible.  *Sigh* The end of HP7, Part 2 is going to ROCK.

Alan Rickman as Professor Severus Snape

Oh Snape, you’re such a fascinating character.  I’m not sure anyone other than Alan Rickman could have pulled off the ambiguity.  Again, the end of HP7, Part 2 should be AWESOME.

Evanna Lynch as Luna Lovegood

Evanna Lynch might be the only person who can pull off a lion hat with the sincerity that Luna needs.  She not only manages to be innocent, daydreamy, and truly a believer of the weird, but she also looks exactly how I pictured Luna.

Those are my nominees.  What are yours?

– Jill

1 Response to “Best Harry Potter Casting”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer November 7, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with your picks. I’ve always though Matt Lewis was cast perfectly as Neville. He started out in the first movie as bumbling, nervous, and helpless and has grown up to perfectly fill Neville’s big shoes in movie 7.

    P.S. If you want to go to a midnight show, you better get your tickets soon, because the first theater we tried was sold out!


Leave a Reply

