Treasures From the World of Secondhand Stuff

I make it a habit to shop for used stuff as much as I can. Not only does it make me feel like a good person when I save stuff from a landfill, it also works out nicely because I am poor. Well the last two places I went yielded absolute gold! First I went to Stuff, Etc. and found this on the DVD shelves:

Oh heck yes!!! I ADORE the Lizzie McGuire show. I can’t wait to bust this out on a Saturday and have a marathon! Also, I only paid $3.71 for it!

Then yesterday I went to the library book sale while I was home visiting my parents. It was pretty convenient because they live across the street from the library. I wasn’t expecting much because I had been to one of their other sales and was not all that impressed. I literally squealed out loud and embarrassed my sister when I saw this hiding among the videos.

OMG!!! My personal quest in life is to accumulate all of the original Baby-Sitters Club videos. I used to watch them all the time when I was little, but only the ones that my hometown library had….and I don’t think I have ever seen “Jessi and the Mystery of the Stolen Secrets!” I have no doubt that this will change my life…I haven’t watched it yet because my parents don’t have a VCR.

But that is not the end of the story…..a little ways down on the table I found this:

Now my collection includes all of these titles–

Jessi and the Mystery of the Stolen Secrets
Stacey Takes a Stand
Dawn and the Haunted House
Mary Anne and the Brunettes
Dawn and the Dream Boy
Claudia and the Missing Jewels
The Baby-Sitters Special Christmas

So, who’s up for a marathon. Now, just because I can, here are the opening credits from one of the shows to bring back fond memories for all of you (and get that song stuck in your head).

Jen

10 Responses to “Treasures From the World of Secondhand Stuff”


  1. 1 ngtjill October 31, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    OMG, my sisters and I had a TON of BSC episodes on tape! We didn’t have cable, so I think my mom got a neighbor to record them. I think we still have them somewhere. I’ve definitely seen several episodes lots of times.

    After looking at the episodes on the wikipedia page, the only one I don’t remember is Dawn Saves the Trees. Jessi & the Mystery of the Stolen Secrets is a good one and I think Dawn and the Haunted House is one of my favorites.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer October 31, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    I think I might have seen all of them except for the two I just bought, so I am super excited. My favorite is probably Mary Anne and the Brunettes because it is so adorably cheesy!!!

  3. 3 Abby October 31, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    OMG I AM COMING TO IOWA AND WE ARE WATCHING THESE. As soon as I have gas money, I swear.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay October 31, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Oh My Goodness. I LOVE both Lizzie McGuire AND the BSC! Can we have a nerd girl weekend where we all get together and watch these?? I am SO jealous of you right now!

  5. 5 ngtlindsay October 31, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Fact: When Lizzie McGuire was first announced on the Disney channel I thought they were saying LINDSAY instead of Lizzie and I was so PSYCHED that a Disney character was going to have my name. I was slightly disappointed when I saw Lizzie’s name for the first time. But I got over it because that show was AWESOME!

  6. 6 ngtjennifer November 1, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I’m glad that everyone else is as excited as I am!

  7. 7 Amber November 3, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    MARATHON MARATHON MARATHON!!!

    Although I will skip the Lizzie McMuire part… I started off loving that show until two things rubbed me the wrong way: 1. the girls were in like 7th grade when they were shopping for bras and my mom made me start wearing a bra when I was in 4th grade so it seemed totally unrealistic (although according to my BFF, Sheila, I just blossomed at an early age, and then never got bigger…) 2. THE MOVIE WAS HORRIBLE. it was like it tried to be an awesome Mary-Kate and Ashley movie but was just so far off. so so far off. not fun at all.

  8. 8 ngtjennifer November 4, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Awww, Amber I’m sorry you didn’t like the movie. I loved the movie! I agree that Hilary Duff is kind of annoying in it, but I just ignore her and check out the pretty Italian scenery most of the time.

  9. 9 Amber November 10, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    so just sitting on my break and re-watching all the recent videos NGT has posted.. AND OMIGOSH WE ARE SO CREATING OUR OWN NERDGIRLTALKING SITCOM OPENING TO THE BSC SONG!

  10. 10 ngtjennifer November 10, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Can we film ourselves skipping and walking through a park like they did in the episode I watched the other day??


Leave a Reply

