Stream of Consciousness Genius or Reason I Need to Move

This guy was actually running for governor.  Or at least he was running to be the Republican candidate for the coming election.  I am dead serious here.  Some of you may recognize him from Jimmy Kimmel or The Colbert Report.  Keep in mind that I got to watch him first on my local news station (Channel 4!).

At first I laughed and then I was a bit horrified at the fact that he actually got 3,505 votes.  Yes, more than 3 people (himself, his wife and his son) voted for him.  3,502 in fact.  Seriously Tennessee?  Was it all those hipster voters who thought it would be funny to vote for him?  Was it people who seriously wanted to see other people get fined when they were found to NOT be carrying a gun?  Or possibly a bunch of criminals voted for him so that they’d be granted immunity for their crimes (because that could SO happen).

But then I realized that this man is the next Kafka (no not Mike – I highly doubt Basil could get into Northwestern OR the NFL).  Franz Kafka.  Yes, I believe Basil Marceaux is giving us a brilliant example of stream of consciousness.  I don’t think anyone could say that this man is going off a script.  I think Basil’s next step should be to write a book.  No editing, just his awesome stream of consciousness that made him an internet sensation.  I seriously think that that book would sell.  Hell, I’d buy it (or at least sit in the aisle at Borders and read it).

<3, lindsay

6 Responses to “Stream of Consciousness Genius or Reason I Need to Move”


  1. 1 ngtjill August 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I’ve seen this guy on The Colbert Report, but I didn’t realize he was from Tennessee. It makes me really sad that that many people voted for him. Ugh!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay August 13, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Right here in Nashville, TN. Although he did say he would move the capitol (building that is) to Chattanooga. Maybe I should have voted for him after all….

  3. 3 Amber August 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Not gonna lie. I think I would vote for him–I really didn’t think he sounded that crazy–I support his arguments against gun control (except for the fining bit, but I think he was joking) and I really appreciate a politician pursuing what he believes is best for his state and not his career. And he just seems like a nice guy based just on this video.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay August 13, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    But dude! He said he’d FINE people for NOT having a gun on their person! I don’t want to pay for forgetting my rifle in the car!
    But I will agree, he does seem like a really sweet guy, just not someone I want running the state I live in. I think I’d like to have him in my book club (YA of course).

  5. 6 Amber August 13, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    No, Dude! he is totally joking–he like laughs while he says it! Not to mention I am making the assumption based on his stances on guns and small government that he is probably totally against taxes and that is why it is soooooo ironic! I really have no idea. I only watched the video once while I was distracted by a Quiznos sandwich…

    Omigosh, yes, you should start a bookclub with him! You guys should read Mockingjay first because I’ll bet he is a total Hunger Games fanboy…


Leave a Reply

