Which Side of Your Brain is More Powerful??

I found this cool thing today on my friend Kelly’s Facebook page.  There is a little test you can do to see if you are more of a left-brain person or a right-brain person.  Go to this website and watch the girl twirl around.  If it moves clockwise, then you are more of an artsy, creative type and if it moves counter-clockwise then you are a more logic numbersy type person.

Oddly enough both times I have gone to the website, I have seen it going clockwise first.  I definitely would not call myself creative or artsy.  I am much more of a “there is one right answer and I want to know what it is” type person.  Then after I look at it for awhile it starts to go the other way.  It is almost like the two sides of my brain are fighting with each other.

So go there and check it out.  Who knows how accurate it is, but it is pretty cool.

Jen

P.S.  Or you could try another method, which is to cross your arms over your chest very fast without thinking about it (hands end up on opposite shoulders).  The arm that is on the bottom is the side of your brain that is stronger (example:  left arm under right arm, you are left-brain oriented).

P.P.S.  Is anyone else disturbed by how anatomically correct the girl is?  It almost looks like she has nipples (which you can’t see in this picture)!  Is it wrong that I noticed that??

Shapely Girl Twirling....why couldn't it be a cat or something?

7 Responses to “Which Side of Your Brain is More Powerful??”


  1. 1 Melody July 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I also first saw the girl as twirling in a clockwise motion, and then had her switch to twirling in a counter-clockwise motion. What’s odd is that when I’m watching her twirl in one certain direction, I can’t even imagine how it would appear that she would be twirling in the other direction. And then–bam! Other direction.

    I don’t think of myself as being a particularly right-brained person, so I don’t know what this said about me. (Although, when I do the trick with the arms, I hold my right arm closest to my chest.)

    And I also noticed the nipples. I don’t see why that was really necessary! Who designed that thing?

  2. 2 ngtjill July 27, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Oh my gosh, this blows my mind. I first saw it as clockwise too, but now it keeps changing back and forth and I do not understand how my mind can see it as both ways. Kind of like Melody said.

    Ditto on the nipples. Why does this have to be a naked woman? It is a cool test though. Thanks for sharing, Jen!

  3. 3 Abby July 28, 2010 at 7:02 am

    I first saw her as counter-clockwise. And then she turned and now I can’t stop seeing her clockwise. I will try to do the arms thing later when I’m not thinking about it. 🙂

    And yes, she definitely has nipples. Maybe it’s her magic nipples that make her keep changing direction?

  4. 4 ngtjennifer July 28, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Abby, you might be on to something with the magic nipples 🙂

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees it going both directions. I completely agree with Melody that when you see it going one direction, you think it can’t possibly go the other direction and then I look away for two seconds and it has switched on me!

  5. 5 ngtlindsay July 28, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    When I first look at it, I see the girl spinning clockwise. For the longest time I could not figure out how anyone could see her spinning counter! But then I focused on her shadow and when I looked up – counter! It’s WEIRD! I can only see the change in direction if I look at the shadow though. If I don’t, she just keeps spinning to clockwise.

    And totes with you on the nipples!!

  6. 6 ngtjennifer July 29, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Ooooh, I will have to try the looking at the shadow thing.

  7. 7 nafi September 25, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    At first I saw it anticlockwise. Then I saw it clockwise. I was baffled by the change in direction so I investigated and I found something very interested. In this illusion the girl does not rotate at all. She simply swings her legs to the left then to the right then to the left again and so on. If you observe just her legs you will notice the lack of rotation. The upper body just changes from back to front based on what you think the leg is doing. You could turn the upper body half way in one direction and the other half in the opposite direction. Plus the nipples make the illusion very difficult to break lol.


Leave a Reply

