My Obsession with J Names/ How do you name a character?? Also, a slightly inappropriate picture of a cake!

Hola blog kids!

It’s me, Lindsay!, coming at y’all from Nashville.  I’ve decided to write today’s blog post about how whenever I need to name a character, I almost always use a J name.

For example.  Yesterday I was popping out some ideas and decided to write one down.  What did I name 2 of the main characters?  Jake and Jenna.  Today as I was writing more stuff down, I realized…hey! Those are 2 J names!  So I sat down and tried to come up with a list of names I like.  This is kind of crazy, because I do this about once a month, or if I’m actually trying to commit to a particular story, once a week (at least).  So you can imagine I have like at least 20 lists of names.

But whatever, I made another list, because you can never have too many lists.  And what did I find out about myself in looking at this list?  I have a J name obsession.  Jake, Josh, Jack. Janie, Janna, Jennifer, Jen, Jenna, Jenny, Jackie, Jill, Jillian, Joanna, Jason, Jessica.  That is just from today’s list.  I’m sure there are other J names that I have on other lists.  (And the fact that two of my nerdgirls are named Jen and Jill is NOT helping!  Clearly ladies, we need to change your names because I don’t see an end to my obsession).

Naming a character for me is hard.  I’ve tried using a stand in for a name, like X, but it feels extremely cold, and it hinders me even worse because it’s super hard to convey any feeling from X.  On the other hand, it feels weird giving a character some temporary name, such as John Smith, because then I’m all like…but that’s not his name!  Hmm..  so maybe this is why I haven’t been able to finish a full story yet… I can’t figure out my characters’ names!  Hahahaha.  No, that’s not it.

On the other hand, I do have names that I love and want so badly to give to my characters.  But I can’t because in the strange metaphysical place that is my mind, I think “But wait!  Reserve that name for possible future children!”  Which is kind of crazy when you really think about it.  But it’s totes (hahahahaha FYA!) not because what happens if I have a child and then I realize that this child is obviously a (name redacted because I know you all will probably totes steal it)!  But I can’t use it because I gave that name to the mean girl or the jerk boy in a book (that is supposedly published or on its way to being publised).

OK, I’m done being a crazycake for the next few minutes.  Do any of you run up against this problem?  Is this just me?  Does anybody else have a fixation on a certain letter?  Are you sure?  Because I wasn’t aware of it until I looked at my list.  Ooooooh!!  Make a list of your favorite names and put them down in the comments!  That way we can see how crazy we all are!  I love it!  Time for this crazycake to go have dinner!

Love you all so totes much!

ngtlindsay

I googled crazycakes, and this image of a cake came up. Is it just me or does anyone else think this cake is anatomically incorrect? Also, SUPER INAPPROPRIATE, AMIRIGHT?

4 Responses to “My Obsession with J Names/ How do you name a character?? Also, a slightly inappropriate picture of a cake!”


  1. 1 Abby July 21, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Lesse… *looks over previous NaNoWriMo novels*

    My characters have been named…

    2009 – Rafe and Embery and Dinara
    2008 – Caleb and Wren
    2007 – Autumn and Niall (Niall was a faerie)
    2006 – Prosper and Kier (and Tomas was kind of a main character, too)
    2005 – Ellie and Rowan

    No fixations on a certain letter, but they’ve all been fantasy novels, so they tend to be kinda… out there.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay July 21, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Oooh pretty names! I tend more towards the normal names, but if I ever do write more a fantasy/sci fi I am totally breaking out the out there names!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer July 22, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I hate my name, so I would totally change it for you Lindsay!! I don’t write, and I’m not having kids, but I really love out there names like Indigo and Tobin. It’s probably a good thing I only have pets to name 🙂

  4. 4 ngtjill July 23, 2010 at 7:45 am

    My family is also obsessed with J names. Besides my sisters Jamie and Jenna, we have a Jane, ANOTHER Jill, Jessica, Josh, Jordan, and Jake. And that’s all on the same side of the family. A few married in, but most were named with J names knowing about the others. And 5 of us were all born within 4 years, so I grew up with my grandparents (and sometime my parents) saying “Jamie, Jill, Jenna, Jess, Josh, whoever you are…” 🙂


Leave a Reply

