I Want Phineas and Ferb To Be My Little Brothers!

Phineas and Ferb is my new favorite can’t-miss-it tv show.  It has been on the Disney Channel (which is my the channel I watch more than any other) for a few years now, but I have always ignored it.  I think it was because it was an animated show, so it did not fit in with the other Disney Channel shows.  Also, I felt like it was ALWAYS on tv, so I would be flipping through the channels hoping to find Hannah Montana or an awesome DCOM and I would think, “Man!  Phineas and Ferb is on again!!  Blerg!!”  Now, I curse myself for ever thinking that.

Let me state this for all of you who don’t know it:  “PHINEAS AND FERB IS AMAZING!”  It is hilarious and it gets even funnier with every episode that you see because there are so many in-jokes and references to previous episodes.

The basic premise of every episode (which are each about 11 minutes long) is Phineas and Ferb build some outrageously awesome invention in their backyard.  Their sister Candace spends all her time trying to “bust them.”  In other words, she tries to get their mom to realize what they are up to.  While all this is going on, their pet platypus Perry (who is a secret agent) goes off and tries to stop Dr. Doofenschmirtz from carrying out his evil plans.

Perry the Platypus in secret agent mode

My favorite characters are Ferb (who almost never speaks, but when he does it is Thomas Sangster doing the voice who was the little boy in Love Actually!!), Perry the Platypus (who has the best facial expressions EVER–trust me, he does), the Mom (how she puts up with Candace I will never know!), and Baljeet (I’m a huge groupie of The Baljeatles).

Baljeet and his friend Buford the bully (can you guess which is which?)

If any of that sounds confusing, don’t worry, it is pretty easy to pick up on.  Some of my favorite episodes in case you want to start watching (most of them can be found on YouTube) are “Vanessassary Roughness,” “Oh There You Are Perry,” “Greece Lightning,” “Hail Doofania,” “Swiss Family Phineas,” “Isabella and the Temple of Sap,” “Finding Mary McGuffin,” and “The Chronicles of Meap.”

Most of the episodes have songs and several of them are very catchy.  I adore the Evil Love song from “Chez Platypus.”  If you can get past Dr. Doofenschmirtz’s terrible voice, the song itself is really pretty.  I also love Come Home Perry from “Oh There You Are Perry.”

Here is one episode to get you addicted to the show.  It doesn’t really follow the regular premise, but I LOVE it!!!  I think my favorite part is when Candace says “Am I sweating milk?”  heeheeheeeeee

So if you’ve never given this show a chance, you should at least check out a few episodes.  Right now it seems to be on from 8-10 in the morning central time so you could watch it while you get ready for work.  I know I’m not the only adult who loves this show (I have an inkling that over half the fan base is parents who watch it with their kids), so don’t be embarrassed.

Jen

P.S.  One of my favorite things about this show is that Ferb has a crush on Dr. Doofenschmirtz’z daughter Vanessa who is played by Olivia Olson who was Joanna in Love Actually.  That means the two little kids who were in love in that movie are crushing on each other again in this show!!!!

10 Responses to “I Want Phineas and Ferb To Be My Little Brothers!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay July 6, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    I am right there with you! I love Phineas and Ferb! My favorite part is when Perry the Platypus goes off and foils Doofenschmirtz’s plans!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer July 7, 2010 at 8:11 am

    I love Perry too!! I think my favorite part is the little jingle that goes with Dr. Doofenschmirtz. “Doofenschmirtz Evil Incorporated!” Yesterday the episode’s jingle was “Doofenschmirtz holding a bucket!” Heeeheeheee

  3. 3 Abby July 8, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Hahaha… I like when the scientist boy is like “A teenage girl?!” I don’t really get the Disney channel except for the clandestine TV in my bedroom, but I’ll have to try and catch it!

  4. 4 ngtjill July 9, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    You’ve convinced me! I will start watching immediately.

  5. 5 ngtjennifer July 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Yea Jill!!! I’m glad to have converted you!

    And Abby I love that part too! There are many times when Perry storms in without his hat and Doofenschmirtz is like “A Platypus!?” then he puts his little hat on and Doofenschmirtz yells “Perry the Platypus!” Heeeheeeheeee! I forgot that you got rid of your cable…..well, most of the eps are available on the internets if you feel the need to watch.

  6. 6 ngtjill July 12, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Jen, this is what my pre-sleep time was like today: “Hmm, I’ve already seen this episode of Golden Girls. Ooh, but if I take my shower now instead, I can watch Phineas and Ferb before bedtime!”

    I think I’m officially addicted. 🙂

  7. 7 ngtjennifer July 13, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Yippee Jill!!!!!

  8. 8 Name-Goes-Here September 11, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Look at my avatar and draw up the conclusion ;)!

  9. 9 Name-Goes-Here September 13, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Ps… I ain’t Candace Flynn… sorry about that. My bad *bangs head on wall*.

  10. 10 Ava November 25, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    the one where they get the band Love Handel back together is my favourite:)


Leave a Reply

