Why I Quit Facebook

A couple of weeks ago I quit facebook.  And I don’t mean that I quit checking it, or made a pledge to myself to limit my time.  I mean I up and deleted (not deactivated) my account.  Now that it’s been over 2 weeks (the grace period), my account is officially gone.  I’m actually relieved that it’s gone.  I always worried that I was putting things that were too personal on my profile, or that someone would post an inappropriate picture of me (I don’t think there are any of these, but you never know).

You all probably remember back a month or so ago when Facebook started getting all weird about it’s privacy settings.  You know, when they kept changing them like everything freaking day, and when they made you link all your interests and favorites?  I really really didn’t like that.  Facebook also didn’t seem to care about my settings.  I kept putting my settings to unsearchable, only viewable to friends, etc.  But Facebook was all like, hey let’s let all these unconnected people be able to search for her and friend her.

CNN had a few articles about people getting upset over Facebook privacy policies that I started reading.  Then I saw some related articles about how hard it was to delete your facebook account.  Surely it wouldn’t be that hard I thought.  So I decided to look around for myself.  I’m a freaking engineer.  I know my way around the internet.  Of course I could figure out how to delete my account.  Oh no, wait.  I couldn’t figure it out.  After a few days of mindlessly clicking on links in the help section of facebook, I finally got ticked off enough to google how to delete my facebook account.  Apparently it is possible to get to the delete section, but it seemed like you’d have to stumble upon it by sheer dumb luck.  The page I had found through google included an automatic link to the delete page.  I was so upset that I couldn’t delete my account on my own that I went ahead and clicked on the link and deleted my facebook right there and then.

I know that about two weeks after I deleted my account, Facebook revamped it’s privacy settings and now everybody is pretty much hunky dory with everything again, but I still can’t get over the fact that they hid their delete page so well.  Deactivation was instantly findable, and I think that Facebook wanted everyone to think that deactivating your account was the same as deleting it.  But it’s not.  If you deactivate, I believe that Facebook gets to hold onto all of your account information.  So if you ever want to get rid of your account too, remember: Delete not deactivate.

I am a bit worried about what will happen when my school reunions roll around (if I decide I actually want to go.  You never know, right?).  Will my classmates decide that all they need to do is make a facebook page (like they did for the 5 year reunion)?  Will they try to get email addresses?  Phone numbers?  I remember who my senior year class officials were, and I am not willing to hedge my bets that they will actually try to do anything beyond facebook.  But on the other hand, I am not worried about keeping in touch with people.  All the people I want to get in touch with, I will get in touch with over email or phone.  And all the ones that care about me will do likewise.  Sure I’ll miss out on things, but I can handle it.

<3, lindsay

P.S.  Please enjoy this lovely video about D&D.  I enjoyed it very much.  Especially the cheetos guy.

1 Response to “Why I Quit Facebook”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer June 14, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    I am so proud of you for doing this!!! I barely use my facebook and sometimes feel obligated to check it on a daily basis, but I just don’t have the guts to delete it. Way to go!!


Leave a Reply

