I’m Going to BEA!!!

I am so excited right now that I can barely contain myself.  In less than 24 hours, I will be in New York City for the Book Expo of America!!  I’ve never been to New York before, so that alone is exciting, but I can’t wait to get my hands on all kinds of free books!!!

I told Abby (the) Librarian (my traveling partner) that I was going to be a human tornado, sucking up every book within range of my flailing arms.  I hope that I can contain myself enough to not be a rude human tornado.

One of the things I am most looking forward to is the Author’s Breakfast on Thursday morning.  I am going to get to eat breakfast with Jon Stewart!!!!  Well, Jon Stewart and hundreds of other people probably.  I will try to take pictures if they are allowed (and even if they’re not tee hee).  He is the person I am most looking forward to seeing.  Also, I would like to get a glimpse of Mo Williams and Adam Rex since they are two of the hot men of children’s literature (also, I happen to like their books).

There are a few titles that I am going to be truly crushed if I don’t get my hands on them, but I am not going to list them here.  I feel like that would jinx it somehow.  But we all know from the Catching Fire incident last year at ALA that there is nothing that will stop me from getting a book I want!  (Unfortunately, we already know that Mockingjay will not be given out, so I am not counting that as one of my titles.)  Wish me luck as I head off into the wild forests of ARCs!  Hopefully I will bring back some good stuff to keep me busy this summer.

Jen

3 Responses to “I’m Going to BEA!!!”


  1. 1 ngtjill May 24, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Good luck!!! Have fun! I’m so excited for you!! Especially about Jon Stewart! 🙂

  2. 2 ngtjennifer May 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Mwaaaaahhhaaahaaaa! That is my evil excited laugh about meeting Jon Stewart!

  3. 3 ngtjill May 24, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Do you think he’ll talk about how awesome BEA is on his show? I’m going to watch more than I normally do to find out. I can see it now…. after it’s over, he’ll have a whole segment on crazy librarians who use their awesome reference skills to stalk celebrities and you’ll be evil excited laughing in the video. lol


Leave a Reply

