Something That Might Make Me Throw My Shoe At You

When I get very angry I have a saying…….it goes, “I’m so mad I want to take off my shoe and throw it!”  I have never actually thrown my shoe at anyone (or anything) but sometimes after a long day, I’ve come close.  Most of the incidents that push me over the edge happen while I’m at work, dealing with the general public.

I work in a small town, and I genuinely love most of my patrons.  I know them by name (and I have a lot of their card numbers memorized) and I know what books they like to read.  I am really fortunate to be in a situation like that.

But………there is one thing that patrons do that makes me so upset, the shoes could start flying…

The thing that really grates my cheese more than anything else is when people put things on the shelf backwards!!!!!  When I say backwards, I mean with the spine facing towards the shelf.  I wish that people wouldn’t put things back in general, but that is never going to stop (I break out in a cold sweat every time I hear a parent say, “honey, put that back where you found it”).

Right way

But please, everyone in the world knows how to put a book on a shelf properly!  You would never know it from walking around a library.  The worst is when a little kid does it in full view of a parent and the parent does absolutely nothing.  Parents, you need to take some responsibility for you child’s actions every once in a while.  It does not take a colossal effort to turn that little DVD back around so it faces the right direction.

WRONG WAY!

I was helping a sixth grader find books the other day and she did it RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME!  I think you could probably see smoke coming out of my ears.  But since I am a non-confrontational person, I just waited until she had her back turned and fixed the book.  Yes, I will admit that even though it makes me furious, I am too much of a chicken to actually correct people about it.  Go figure.

So, the next time you are in a library, if you attempt to shelve something yourself (but please don’t even attempt to shelve it yourself…leave it up to us highly trained librarians…or unpaid volunteers :)), please be courteous enough to at least have the spine facing in the right direction.

Jen

P.S.  Woohooo!!!!  I made it through BEDA!!!  Don’t expect another post from me for a little while…..I am taking a much needed break.

2 Responses to “Something That Might Make Me Throw My Shoe At You”


  1. 1 Abby May 1, 2010 at 7:32 am

    “(I break out in a cold sweat every time I hear a parent say, “honey, put that back where you found it”).”

    Meee tooo.
    I always make sure to tell people when I’m helping them pick out books that 1) they don’t have to take everything I suggest/we look at and 2) whatever they don’t want, leave it on the table and we’ll take care of it!

    Of course, it still happens.
    Can I offer a positive spin, though? At least if they put the book back facing the wrong way, it’s relatively easy to spot and you can correct it! If they put it back facing the correct way but in the wrong spot, then you can’t find it and it’s lost!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer May 1, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Hmmm, Abby, I had never thought about it that way, but that is a great point!


Leave a Reply

