Sometimes I Buy Presents Just for the Fun of It

You know what is sooo awesome?  Receiving presents from people just because.  It’s not your birthday, Christmas, Easter, Valentine’s Day, or any other holiday you may receive presents on, but you still get a package in the mail is the BEST!

Example:  A few months ago, Amber sent me Madlibs, a bag of candy, and an Us Weekly WITH HER COMMENTS!!! to me just because I had said that I missed our roadtrips.  See, in what I like to call “the good ol’ Iowa days” on our roadtrips to library events or to visit nerdgirls, I’d drive and Amber would supply snacks and fun to entertain me, like reading from an Us Weekly and sharing her comments on why this story is scandalous or how hot that guy looks or how ugly this dress is.  So when I was sad about not getting to do that anymore, she sent me the world’s greatest package.

Sometimes I like to do similar things.  I might send someone a mixed cd of songs I think they’d love, or a dvd of episodes of a legen–wait for it–dary tv show, etc, etc.  It’s just fun to surprise people.

So the other day at …a store… I stopped and found something that reminded me of Someone.  So I bought it and as soon as I make it to the post office, Someone will be receiving a fun surprise.  🙂

– Jill

4 Responses to “Sometimes I Buy Presents Just for the Fun of It”


  1. 1 Amber April 27, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    SEEEEE WE NEEDS TO ROADTRIPS SOOOOOON. Reading US Weekly on my own is not so much fun. and although my coworkers do seem amused by some of my comments when I sneak the library’s copy into our Reference Dugout, I think sometimes they probably wish I would talk about Lost instead–but I CAN’T because I DON’T WATCH Lost 😦

    P.S. I still haven’t sent my package to Sarah yet! It has been sitting on my desk for over a week because I am not comfortable with going to the Davenport Post Office yet. I did however finish my “How-to: pregnant tap-dancing with a broken leg” book…

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Awwww, I love people who do that. I wish I could be one of them! I just got a card from a friend the other day that made me feel so warm and fuzzy (thanks Abby!).

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 27, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Ooooh, I believe I have a grand idea to send you all something fun 🙂 It’s Buffy related 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. 4 ngtjill April 27, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Amber – I still have to START on my package. Though I have decided on a theme, which I prob shouldn’t share here just in case she’s lurking!

    Jen – getting cards in the mail ROCKS! Especially when otherwise you get no mail or junk mail from the store you already shop at (like I do). But it’s ok because it kind of makes me laugh.

    Lindsay – I am dying in anticipation already. What could it BE??!? P.S. We haven’t done a MICHAEL MOSCOVITZ lately and it’s the 11 o’clock hour, so… MICHAEL MOSCOVITZ!


Leave a Reply

