Mini Review: A Spy in the House

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee is the first of the Mary Quinn mysteries (also known as The Agency series, so many different titles).  I really enjoyed this book a lot.  It included basically all of my favorite things.

Takes place in London-Check

Takes place in Victorian London-Check

Strong Female Character That Isn’t Annoying-Check

Really Dreamy Guy-Check

Leaves Me Wanting More-Check

The story is about Mary Quinn, who was plucked from the streets as a girl to go to a special school for young ladies.  Several years later, at 17, she is recruited as a spy to work for The Agency.  Her first mission is relatively simple, but she manages to get in all kinds of trouble during the process.  She also meets the dark and dashing James Easton (*swoon*).  Will she accomplish her mission without revealing herself?

I really liked Mary’s character a lot.  She was strong and smart and not afraid to speak her mind.  She is probably a little bit too modern for the time period, but I don’t really care about things like that.  She gets herself in stupid situations by disobeying orders, but that is to be expected.  She is supposed to lie low, but she doesn’t really know how to do that.

I LOVE her interactions with Mr. Easton.  This book actually totally reminded me of a regency romance novel, without all the steamy scenes.  This is the first in a series, and I am on the edge of my seat waiting for the next book.  I just read somewhere that it is to be a trilogy.  Yippee!!  I love knowing there are more books to come, but also that there is a definite end in sight.  The second book is called The Body at the Tower and comes out in England in September (hopefully here too!).

Jen

P.S.  Aren’t the UK covers much better!!

4 Responses to “Mini Review: A Spy in the House”


  1. 1 ngtjill April 24, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Ok, I really need to read this! And I agree about the awesomeness of the UK covers. I have this book on display right now in the teen section, but I bet the cooler UK cover would help it fly off the shelf more.

  2. 2 Amber April 24, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    !!!!! I have been wanting to read this for awhile now but haven’t wanted to add it to my stack-of-things-I-check-out-and-never-read because I really really want to read it! I read the first chapter on Amazon back before I bought it for the library… it kinda reminded me of Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series (haha bc you didn’t like those, right?) AND THE COVER, I KNOW! I was so mad when I saw it was different than the one they had posted on Amazon initially. HELLOOOO GLOVES ARE MYSTERIOUS AND HOT! and I love the design of the “Agency” title, but HATE the cheesy “Spy in the House” writing–that is one part that is WAY better on the US cover.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Oh Amber, I love how you notice things like the font of the title. I was just made about the pictures.

    I do like the UK covers more, but I will say that the artist of the US cover did a fantastic job of portraying Mary. It probably doesn’t make sense without having read the book, but it is a perfect depiction of what she should look like.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer April 25, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    when I say “made” I mean mad 🙂


Leave a Reply

