Gosh Junior High sucked…but Smile by Raina Telgemeier is FANTASTIC

Smile by Raina TelgemeierAll nerdgirls should read Raina Telgemeier’s autobiographical graphic novel, Smile, about her preteen and teen years when she had to deal with a painful injury and numerous dental surgeries! I know, F-U-N, right??? But it is positively ADORABLE and so on target. I never had an accident to make my teeth horrible–they just grew in that way and I was soooo embarrassed by them. So I was pretty relieved when I finally got braces in 7th grade, although I quickly learned how much they suck…

But this story is not really about teeth–it is about nerdgirls being awkward and blushing and standing up for themselves and finding other nerdy people to be friends with. I just want to give Raina a hug! (Unlike the Wimpy Kid who I usually just want to duct tape his mouth shut… I shouldn’t say that. I have only read the first book. and the movie does look pretty cute…) Check out the lovely trailer Raina made for her book: oh and does the music sound familiar??? Yeah, it is by HARRY AND THE POTTERS!

All this talking-about-teeth will probably make me have my usual nightmare about my teeth getting all jumbled and falling out…but reading this book was so worth it.

amber

3 Responses to “Gosh Junior High sucked…but Smile by Raina Telgemeier is FANTASTIC”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Oh. My. God. I thought I was the only one who had nightmares about their teeth falling out!!!! I have them all the time and I wake up absolutely terrified. It usually takes about 15 minutes after I wake up before I realize that yes, I do still have all of my teeth. Except in my dreams, something always happens where I pull my tooth out (The Hangover much??). *shudders*

  2. 2 Amber April 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    EEEk, mine are always where I will accidentally bump a tooth and it goes all snaggley. So then I go to turn back into place and it just gets worse and messes up the teeth nearby and then eventually all my mouth just looks like a jumbly Meatwad-like-teeth-creature…

  3. 3 Diana April 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    She went to my high school! I didn’t know her, though, as she was older.


Leave a Reply

