Go See Kick-Ass…Like Right Now!

There are new posters out now, but this is my fave

Amber and I are the last people in the world that would voluntarily go see a super-violent movie.  But let me say without a shadow of a doubt that we both ADORED Kick-Ass.  Oh, and my sister loved it too, and she sees like every movie that comes out, so she is an expert.

For those of you who are wondering, it is very, very violent, but Amber and I each dealt with that in our own way.  I muttered things to myself the whole time like, “Oh my gosh, I am so nervous….he’s totally gonna die!!”  Oh, and I looked at the ceiling a lot.  Amber closed her eyes or looked off to the side.

But it is worth it because the movie is completely awesome.  I will probably (who am I kidding, there’s no probably about it) go see it again so I can watch the whole thing, now that I know what happens.  I really want to see Hit Girl in all her glory.

All you need to know about the movie is that it is hilarious.  We laughed a lot.  The good guys were funny, the bad guys were funny, the best friends were funny, everybody was great.  But the best part of the movie was Hit Girl.  Have I mentioned her yet?  It might have something to do with her sweet purple wig, but she is my new hero.  I totally want to be her when I grow up (or grow down??).

The plot is about a kid who decides to become a superhero even though he doesn’t have any powers.  Aaron Johnson is perfect as Dave.  He has that invisible-boy-in-glasses-squeaky-voiced-geek thing down pat.  I love that he’s a superhero who is absolutely terrified of the bad guys.  Also, he is a superhero in a wet suit.  You really can’t get better than that.

So, the movie is action-packed and really funny, but it can also be kind of deep.  Kick-Ass gets his start because he realizes that in general people just stand by and watch when horrible things happen.  What would you do if you saw someone getting mugged?  Would you help?  My second favorite scene (after the car dancing one) is when Kick-Ass helps a guy who is getting beaten up by three other people.  They ask him if he’s crazy and he points out that they are three guys trying to kill one man while a bunch of other people watch….who’s crazy now?  I loved that!!!  And Mr. Hottie Pants Aaron Johnson did a very nice job during that scene.

You tell 'em Kick-Ass!

So yeah, the movie rocks.  Did I mention Hit Girl?  Watching her play with her Butterfly knife made me feel so inferior.  Amber and I both decided that maybe we need to take some kind of martial arts class so we can be a little more like Hit Girl.  I think I would like to take stick fighting because it was mentioned in a book I just read.

I'm already working on my costume

So anyway, if you saw commercials for this and thought, “Hmmm, I might like this, but……”  THERE IS NO BUT!  Go see it now because it will rock your socks off!

Jen

P.S.  Some people complain about the violence being committed by such a young child (Hit Girl is 11) blah, blah, blah.  Read this article by Entertainment Weekly’s Owen Gleiberman.  If you scroll down past the Box Office stuff he talks about the violence.  I totally agree with what he says whole-heartedly.

0 Responses to “Go See Kick-Ass…Like Right Now!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

