Sliding Doors!

Last night I watched The Mummy for the first time.  While I was watching it, one of the characters looked really familiar, but I couldn’t place him.  The guy I’m talking about is Evelyn’s brother, Jonathan.  So I turned to my good friend imdb.com to find out what I know him from.  Turns out, he was James in the movie Sliding Doors!!

Have you seen this movie?  It was released in 1998, but I didn’t discover it until about 5 years ago when I was in college.  I’m not even sure how I discovered it.  I think my roommate and I had gone to Blockbuster to find a movie and stumbled upon this one.  We ended up loving it so much, I bought myself a copy.

It’s about a woman (Gwyneth Paltrow) whose alternate lives are told in parallel storylines.  Ok before I confuse you, here’s how it starts — in the beginning, Helen gets up one morning, goes to work, gets fired, and leaves to catch the train home.  Then the parallel stories start.  In one, Helen catches the train, meets James on the train, and comes home to find her boyfriend in bed with another woman.  In the other, she misses the train, gets mugged, and does not catch her still-cheating boyfriend.

Each story continues from there, and it’s really interesting to see what happens in each.  If you’ve ever wondered about the choices you make or how something can affect your life (which I usually think about TOO much), you might like this movie.

Or if you’re a fan of some good ol’ 90s pop music, check it out too.  The soundtrack includes songs by Aqua, Dido, Jamiroquai, Elton John, Aimee Mann, Space Monkeys, and my two personal faves: “Have Fun, Go Mad” by Blair and “On My Own” by Peach.  Oh man, I’m listening to those last two right now, and my inner 13-year-old is practically giddy.

– Jill

2 Responses to “Sliding Doors!”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    I totally watched this movie in high school because my French teacher mentioned over and over again how awesome it was! I have only seen it the one time, and I was so stressed out about how it was going to end, that I didn’t get a chance to enjoy it. But I know if I watched it again I would love it. And yes, I totally think of Sliding Doors whenever I catch the Mummy on tv.

  2. 2 Diana April 19, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I have this movie, but haven’t watched it in a while. Your blog makes me want to watch it again. Maybe I’ll do that this weekend. I really liked it the first time I saw it.


Leave a Reply

